This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Advertising card, Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage, 1961–62
Nelly Rudin
Advertising card, Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage
Nelly Rudin,

Advertising card, Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage,
1961–62

*1066
g1R5
[{"lat":47.382892651729584,"lng":8.53570211962608},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage Nelly Rudin Advertising card
  • Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage Nelly Rudin Advertising card
  • Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage Nelly Rudin Advertising card
6
7
Listen to the text
j

In 1961, the Basel chemical company Geigy introduced the medication Insidon, a psychovegetative harmonizer, onto the Swiss market. The graphic designer Nelly Rudin (1928–2013) was assigned to create the introductory campaign targeting doctors. To visualize the effects of the drug, Rudin used a glass ball, which bursts when the patient, who is trapped inside, takes the medication.

The Allgemeine Gewerbeschule Basel and the graphic design studio of Geigy’s propaganda department maintained close ties. The graphic design teacher Armin Hofmann (b. 1920) at the general trade school was friends with the head of the studio, Max Schmid (1921–2000), and sent his most talented students to work for Geigy. Among them was Nelly Rudin, though she was directly brought to Geigy by her brother, René Rudin, who was the advertising manager. In cooperation with Schmid, Karl Gerstner, and Gérard Ifert, she shaped the early “Geigy Style.” When the psychovegetative harmonizer Insidon was approved for the Swiss market, Nelly Rudin had already been running her own studio in Zurich for five years, where she also received commissions for Geigy. In 1961–62, she designed the introductory campaign for Insidon, meant to target Swiss doctors. She used the symbol of a patient trapped in a glass ball who then breaks free from her psychological suffering by bursting through the sphere. This symbol, combined with a slogan, was used for all advertising materials, including print advertisements, doctors’ samples, order forms, cards, and so on. Rudin found a suitable solution for the wide format of the promotional card by showing the state of the patient in three stages: just before taking the medication she cowers inside the ball, after taking it she stands relaxed in the ball, and finally she self-confidently breaks free. The overall sober visualization using simple line-screen photography (ball motif), sans-serif type, and a reduced color scheme imparts a sense of reputability designed to gain the trust of the medical professionals. (Barbara Junod)

Werbekarte, Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l’humeur soulage, um 1962
Gestaltung: Nelly Rudin
Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH
Material/Technik: Halbkarton, Offsetdruck
13.6 x 29.7 cm
Donation: Brian Stones
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Andres Janser, Barbara Junod (Hg.), Corporate Diversity, 2009, S. 16–22, 36–40, 98, 104–107, 148–155.

Interview von B. Junod mit Nelly Rudin in ihrem Atelier, Badenerstrasse 460, Zürich, 23. November 2004

Image creditso

Werbekarte, Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l’humeur soulage, um 1962, Gestaltung: Nelly Rudin, Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH, Donation: Brian Stones
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Ärztemuster, Insidon Geigy – Armonizzatore neuro-vegetativ o e psichico, 1961–63, Gestaltung: Roland Aeschlimann (Motiv: Nelly Rudin), Produktion: Geigy S.A., Mailand, IT, Donation: Roland Aeschlimann
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Ärztemuster, geöffnet, Insidon Geigy – Armonizzatore neuro-vegetativ o e psichico, 1961–63, Gestaltung: Roland Aeschlimann (Motiv: Nelly Rudin), Produktion: Geigy S.A., Mailand, IT, Donation: Roland Aeschlimann
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Werbekarte, Insidon Geigy – en cardiologie, um 1963, Gestaltung: unbekannt, Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH, Donation: Brian Stones
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Nelly Rudin – Geigy Design

After training as a graphic designer at the Allgemeine Gewerbeschule (general trade school) in Basel, Nelly Rudin (1928–2011) did a number of commissions for the “Geigy propaganda” graphic design studio between 1951 and 1962. She first worked as a freelancer on site, then as an assistant in the Atelier Müller-Brockmann in Zurich, and, most recently, out of her own Zurich studio. She did mostly pharmaceutical advertisements, at first using only graphic symbols but later favoring photographic solutions.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Carte publicitaire, Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage, 1961–62
Nelly Rudin
Carte publicitaire, Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage
Nelly Rudin,

Carte publicitaire, Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage,
1961–62

*1066
g1R5
f Objet e
[{"lat":47.382892651729584,"lng":8.53570211962608},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage Nelly Rudin Carte publicitaire
  • Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage Nelly Rudin Carte publicitaire
  • Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l'humeur soulage Nelly Rudin Carte publicitaire
6
7
Écouter le text
j

En 1961, l’entreprise bâloise Geigy sort l’harmonisant psychovégétatif Insidon sur le marché suisse. Elle charge Nelly Rudin (1928-2013) de la campagne de lancement destinée aux médecins. La graphiste met en image l’effet du médicament au moyen d’une bulle, que la patiente enfermée fait éclater grâce à la prise d’Insidon.

L’Allgemeine Gewerbeschule de Bâle (École générale des métiers) et l’atelier graphique du service propagande de Geigy entretiennent d’étroits contacts. Armin Hofmann (né en 1920), professeur de graphisme, est un ami de Max Schmid (1921-2000), chef de l’atelier Geigy, et lui adresse ses élèves les plus talentueux. Nelly Rudin en fait partie, même si elle entre dans l’entreprise par l’intermédiaire de son frère, René Rudin, directeur de la publicité. La graphiste, ainsi que Karl Gerstner et Gérard Ifert laissent leur empreinte sur le premier « style Geigy ». Lorsque l’harmonisant psychovégétatif Insidon est autorisé sur le marché helvétique en 1961, Nelly Rudin dirige depuis cinq ans son propre atelier à Zurich. Geigy continue à lui confier des mandats. Pour la campagne de lancement de l’Insidon adressée aux médecins en 1961-1962, elle imagine une patiente enfermée dans une bulle, qui se libère de sa souffrance psychique en la faisant éclater. Cette métaphore, doublée d’un slogan, est reproduite sur tous les supports publicitaires – encarts, échantillons pour médecins, bulletins de commande, cartes, etc. La graphiste trouve la solution idéale pour la carte publicitaire de format allongé en représentant trois stades de l’état de la patiente : recroquevillée dans la bulle avant la prise de médicaments, debout et détendue à l’intérieur après le début de la prise, la brisant avec assurance, enfin. La sobriété de la visualisation – photographie à trame fine (bulle), police sans empattement et usage limité de la couleur – souligne le sérieux de cette publicité qui fait appel à la confiance du corps médical. (Barbara Junod)

Bibliographieo

Andres Janser, Barbara Junod (Hg.), Corporate Diversity, 2009, S. 16–22, 36–40, 98, 104–107, 148–155.

Interview von B. Junod mit Nelly Rudin in ihrem Atelier, Badenerstrasse 460, Zürich, 23. November 2004

Légendeso

Werbekarte, Insidon Geigy – apaise supprime anxiété et tension relève l’humeur soulage, um 1962, Gestaltung: Nelly Rudin, Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH, Donation: Brian Stones
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Ärztemuster, Insidon Geigy – Armonizzatore neuro-vegetativ o e psichico, 1961–63, Gestaltung: Roland Aeschlimann (Motiv: Nelly Rudin), Produktion: Geigy S.A., Mailand, IT, Donation: Roland Aeschlimann
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Ärztemuster, geöffnet, Insidon Geigy – Armonizzatore neuro-vegetativ o e psichico, 1961–63, Gestaltung: Roland Aeschlimann (Motiv: Nelly Rudin), Produktion: Geigy S.A., Mailand, IT, Donation: Roland Aeschlimann
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Werbekarte, Insidon Geigy – en cardiologie, um 1963, Gestaltung: unbekannt, Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH, Donation: Brian Stones
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Nelly Rudin – Design de Geigy

Nelly Rudin (1928-2011), formée au graphisme à l’Allgemeine Gewerbeschule de Bâle (École des arts et métiers), travaille à plusieurs reprises entre 1951 et 1962 pour l’atelier de graphisme du département de « propagande » de Geigy. D’abord comme free-lance sur place, puis comme collaboratrice de l’atelier Müller-Brockmann à Zurich et enfin dans sa propre agence zurichoise. Elle conçoit essentiellement des supports publicitaires pharmaceutiques, pour lesquels elle commence par n’utiliser que des symboles graphiques, avant de privilégier les solutions photographiques.