This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Scarf, Yves Saint Laurent, 1964
Erich Biehle
Scarf, Yves Saint Laurent
Erich Biehle,

Scarf, Yves Saint Laurent,
1964

Erich Biehle
*1087
g1Z2
[{"lat":47.38287358254746,"lng":8.535772192336594},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Yves Saint Laurent Erich Biehle Scarf
  • Yves Saint Laurent Erich Biehle Scarf
  • Yves Saint Laurent Erich Biehle Scarf
6
7
Listen to the text
Interview mit Eric Biehle
j

With his keen sense of design, fabrication, and application of textiles, Erich Biehle (b. 1941) has created successful and readily accessible works that have helped to shaped his Parisian clients’ haute couture and prêt-à-porter collections. The black-and-white scarf is an early example of the many geometric-patterned scarves Biehle has designed for Yves Saint Laurent.

As a designer at L. Abraham + Co. Seiden AG, Erich Biehle was already working in the early 1960s on Yves Saint Laurent’s very first scarf collection. This silk scarf from a slightly later date features a strictly geometrical and symmetrical-mirrored composition, highlighted by the black/white contrast. By wearing the scarf tied in different ways, the black bars are broken up and reassembled into new patterns. On closer inspection, it becomes evident that the lines were hand-drawn—Biehle never used a ruler when crafting his designs. The scarf thus subtly draws attention to one of the main characteristics of his work, especially apparent in his floral and ornamental designs: many of his works originate in painted designs, often realized with a special wax technique on Japan paper. As scarves were to become for the fashion houses important brand vehicles that helped to disseminate their name, the label design played a vital role. Here Biehle has inserted a conspicuously eye-catching block label in a contrasting color—a design element that, like the geometric composition, would reappear on subsequent YSL scarves. The freehand lettering specified by the fashion house fits in perfectly with Biehle’s hand-drawn lines. The scarf offered the customer a way to purchase a more affordable and yet more personal item from the house of YSL. (Rhiannon Ash)

Foulard, 1964
Entwurf: Erich Biehle
Auftrag: Yves Saint Laurent Couture, Paris, FR
Produktion: Abraham AG, Zürich, CH
Material/Technik: Seide, bedruckt
84 × 90 cm
Donation: Erich Biehle
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Image creditso

Foulard, 1964, Entwurf: Erich Biehle, Donation: Erich Biehle
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Foulards für YSL, um 1965, Entwurf: Erich Biehle, Donation: Erich Biehle
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Fotos aus Modemagazinen mit Kleidern aus Stoffen von Erich Biehle, 1960er-Jahre, Donation: Erich Biehle
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Materialien aus dem Archiv Biehle, Donation: Erich Biehle
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Erich Biehle – Yves Saint Laurent

Erich Biehle (b. 1941) designed this hand-printed silk scarf after having already been responsible for Yves Saint Laurent’s first scarf collection as a designer at L. Abraham + Co. Seiden AG in Zurich. The strict geometric composition is rarely seen as it is here but rather falls in soft folds when worn and is thus transformed into a loose pattern. The eye-catching label marks the wearer as the owner of a YSL piece. Biehle successfully used both design features for numerous YSL silk scarves.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Foulard, Yves Saint Laurent, 1964
Erich Biehle
Foulard, Yves Saint Laurent
Erich Biehle,

Foulard, Yves Saint Laurent,
1964

Erich Biehle
*1087
g1Z2
f Objet e
[{"lat":47.38287358254746,"lng":8.535772192336594},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Yves Saint Laurent Erich Biehle Foulard
  • Yves Saint Laurent Erich Biehle Foulard
  • Yves Saint Laurent Erich Biehle Foulard
6
7
Écouter le text
Interview mit Eric Biehle
j

Doté d’un indéniable talent pour le dessin, la confection et l’emploi des textiles, Erich Biehle (né en 1941) a obtenu de nombreux succès grâce à ses créations simples et accessibles, prisées par les collections de haute couture et de prêt-à-porter parisiennes. Le foulard noir et blanc est l’un des premiers carrés qu’il crée pour Yves Saint Laurent.

Designer chez L. Abraham + Co. Seiden AG, Erich Biehle travaille dès le début des années 1960 sur le design de la première collection de foulards qu’Yves Saint Laurent met sur le marché. Ce carré en soie dessiné quelque temps plus tard révèle une composition géométrique et symétriquement inversée, mise en relief par le contraste du noir et du blanc. Les diverses manières de le nouer quand on le porte décomposent les barres noires pour former de nouveaux motifs. À le regarder de près, on remarque en outre que les lignes sont dessinées à main levée – Erich Biehle délaisse toujours la règle dans ses projets. Le foulard annonce donc discrètement un trait majeur de la création du designer, qui se révèle avant tout dans ses conceptions florales et ornementales : à l’origine de nombre de ses œuvres se trouvent des dessins picturaux qu’il exécute souvent à la cire sur japon. Parce que les foulards représentent un vecteur de marque important doté d’un fort potentiel de diffusion pour les maisons de mode, le design de la griffe joue un rôle significatif. Disposée en bloc dans une couleur fortement contrastée, elle attire ici les regards – un élément stylistique que le designer reprend dans des foulards YSL ultérieurs, de même que la composition géométrique. La griffe prescrite par la maison de mode ajoute un élément manuscrit supplémentaire et s’harmonise au design de libres lignes d’Erich Biehle. Le foulard permet ainsi aux clientes d’acquérir une étoffe YSL qui offre une touche personnelle tout en étant abordable. (Rhiannon Ash)

Foulard, 1964
Entwurf: Erich Biehle
Auftrag: Yves Saint Laurent Couture, Paris, FR
Produktion: Abraham AG, Zürich, CH
Material/Technik: Seide, bedruckt
84 × 90 cm
Donation: Erich Biehle
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Légendeso

Foulard, 1964, Entwurf: Erich Biehle, Donation: Erich Biehle
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Foulards für YSL, um 1965, Entwurf: Erich Biehle, Donation: Erich Biehle
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Fotos aus Modemagazinen mit Kleidern aus Stoffen von Erich Biehle, 1960er-Jahre, Donation: Erich Biehle
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Materialien aus dem Archiv Biehle, Donation: Erich Biehle
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Erich Biehle – Yves Saint Laurent

Le créateur de ce foulard en soie imprimé à la main est Erich Biehle (né en 1941), qui a déjà dessiné une première collection de foulards pour Yves Saint Laurent lorsqu’il travaillait comme designer pour la société zurichoise L. Abraham + Co. Seiden AG. Rarement visible ainsi déployée, la composition, pourtant strictement géométrique, se plisse de façon à produire des motifs d’une grande souplesse dès que le foulard est porté. De plus, la griffe bien visible désigne la porteuse comme détentrice d’un objet YSL – des éléments de design que le styliste utilise avec succès dans nombre de ses foulards en soie YSL.