This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Watch, GB 100, 1983
Swatch AG
Watch, GB 100
Swatch AG,

Watch, GB 100,
1983

Swatch AG
*1042
g1N1
f Object e
[{"lat":47.382850654117,"lng":8.535749058283841},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • GB 100 Swatch AG Watch
6
7
Listen to the text
j

When Swatch debuted its watch in twelve colors in 1983, it changed the status and purpose of the Swiss watch. It was no longer a timepiece seen as a lifelong investment but rather a fashionable accessory that could adapt to new trends like a chameleon.

In the 1970s, the Swiss watch industry found itself at an unprecedented low point. From 1977 to 1983 the volume of exports declined by half. Although the world’s first electronic wristwatch with quartz crystal display was developed in Neuchâtel in 1967, Japan was quicker to bring the new technology to the mass market, and Switzerland ending up losing its leading position. The radical reinvention of the Swiss watch by Swatch (Second Watch) has an economic, a technical, and an aesthetic aspect, with all three equally determining the development and design of the Swatch. Simplifying production was central to the undertaking: the watch’s plastic housing (produced by injection molding) also serves as a mounting plate for the mere fifty-one components (instead of the ninety-one in typical watch movements), which are assembled in a fully automated process with ultrasonic welding technology. Despite this pared-down construction, the Swatch, available for only fifty Swiss francs, runs on its mini-battery just as precisely as a chronometer. In 1983, the Swatch was presented in twelve colors—with plans to produce a million watches. But it was not until the plastic watch was reconceived as a fashion accessory that it experienced its true breakthrough. In the period from 1983 to 1989, the visual designers Jean Robert and Käti Robert-Durrer came up with five different product lines displaying great graphic diversity—something for every taste. Swatch thus became a pioneer of individualized surface design, a trend that would go on to shape the product culture—from sneakers to toothbrushes—in the 1990s. (Renate Menzi)

Armbanduhr, GB 100, Kollektion Frühling-Sommer 1983
Entwicklung: 1980–1982; Produktion: ab 1983
Herstellung: ETA AG, Grenchen, CH
Produktion: Swatch AG, Biel, CH / ASUAG (Allgemeine Schweizer Uhren AG)
Material/Technik: Kunststoff
1 x 3.5 x 24 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich (Hg.), 100 Jahre Schweizer Design, Zürich 2014, S. 291.

Lorenz Häfliger, u. a., Stiftung Eisenbibliothek / Georg Fischer AG / SIG Schweizerische Industrie- Gesellschaft Holding AG (Hg.), Beiträge der Schweiz zur Technik. Schweizerische Erfindungen von internationaler Bedeutung, Festschrift zum Jubiläum 700 Jahre Eidgenossenschaft, Oberbözberg 1991.

Claude Lichtenstein, «Die Neugeburt der Armbanduhr aus dem Geist des Graphic Design. Zum Phänomen der Swatch: Robert & Durrer», in: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich (Hg.), 100 Jahre Schweizer Grafik, Zürich 2014, S. 206f.

Phillips de Pury & Company (Hg.), Swatch. The Blum Collection, Hong Kong 2011.

Swatch AG (Hg.), Swatch Watch, A definitive Guide 1983–2000, Biel 2000.

Image creditso

Armbanduhr, GB 100, 1983, Produktion: Swatch AG, Biel, CH / ASUAG
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Armbanduhr, Coloured Love, 1988, Produktion: Swatch AG, Biel, CH / ASUAG
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Armbanduhr, Jelly Fish, 1985, Produktion: Swatch AG, Biel, CH / ASUAG
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Armbanduhren, Vegetable-Set, 1991, Entwurf: Alfred Hofkunst
Abbildung: Swatch Ldt.

Exhibition texto
Wristwatches

They not only keep time; as a decorative accessory they also keep pace with the zeitgeist. By following the development of Swiss watch brands and designers, the design history of the wristwatch can be traced from traditional heirloom to fashionable lifestyle product to high-tech status symbol.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Montre-bracelet, GB 100, 1983
Swatch AG
Montre-bracelet, GB 100,
Swatch AG,

Montre-bracelet, GB 100,
1983

Swatch AG
*1042
g1N1
[{"lat":47.382850654117,"lng":8.535749058283841},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • GB 100 Swatch AG
6
7
Écouter le text
j

La première Swatch présentée en 1983 en 12 coloris change le statut et la fonction de la montre-bracelet suisse : elle n’est plus seulement un instrument de mesure du temps dans lequel on investit pour toute la vie, mais un accessoire de mode qui s’adapte aux nouvelles tendances tel un caméléon.

Dans les années 1970, l’industrie horlogère suisse est au plus bas. Le volume d’exportation baisse de moitié entre 1977 et 1983. La première montre électronique à quartz du monde est mise au point à Neuchâtel en 1967, mais c’est le Japon qui commercialise la nouvelle technologie et la Suisse perd son leadership sur le marché de l’horlogerie. La réinvention radicale de la montre suisse par Swatch (Second Watch) a une dimension économique, une dimension technique et une dimension esthétique. Ces trois aspects déterminent pareillement la mise au point et la conception de la Swatch. La simplification de la production est centrale : le boîtier en plastique (fabriqué grâce à un procédé de moulage par injection) sert de plaque de support aux composants, réduits à 51 (contre 91 dans les montres usuelles) et montés de façon totalement automatisée grâce à une technique de soudage par ultra-sons. Malgré cela, la montre à 50 francs fonctionne avec une exactitude de chronomètre grâce à une mini-batterie. En 1983, la Swatch est présentée en douze coloris – il est prévu d’en produire un million au total. Mais le succès de la montre-bracelet en plastique n’arrive qu’avec sa reconversion en accessoire de mode. Entre 1983 et 1989, les créateurs visuels Jean Robert et Käti Robert-Durrer conçoivent cinq lignes au graphisme très varié pour plaire à tous les goûts. La Swatch est ainsi la pionnière de la création stylistique individualisée, qui marquera la culture du produit des années 1990 – des tennis à la brosse à dents. (Renate Menzi)

Armbanduhr, GB 100, Kollektion Frühling-Sommer 1983
Entwicklung: 1980–1982; Produktion: ab 1983
Herstellung: ETA AG, Grenchen, CH
Produktion: Swatch AG, Biel, CH / ASUAG (Allgemeine Schweizer Uhren AG)
Material/Technik: Kunststoff
1 x 3.5 x 24 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich (Hg.), 100 Jahre Schweizer Design, Zürich 2014, S. 291.

Lorenz Häfliger, u. a., Stiftung Eisenbibliothek / Georg Fischer AG / SIG Schweizerische Industrie- Gesellschaft Holding AG (Hg.), Beiträge der Schweiz zur Technik. Schweizerische Erfindungen von internationaler Bedeutung, Festschrift zum Jubiläum 700 Jahre Eidgenossenschaft, Oberbözberg 1991.

Claude Lichtenstein, «Die Neugeburt der Armbanduhr aus dem Geist des Graphic Design. Zum Phänomen der Swatch: Robert & Durrer», in: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich (Hg.), 100 Jahre Schweizer Grafik, Zürich 2014, S. 206f.

Phillips de Pury & Company (Hg.), Swatch. The Blum Collection, Hong Kong 2011.

Swatch AG (Hg.), Swatch Watch, A definitive Guide 1983–2000, Biel 2000.

Légendeso

Armbanduhr, GB 100, 1983, Produktion: Swatch AG, Biel, CH / ASUAG
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Armbanduhr, Coloured Love, 1988, Produktion: Swatch AG, Biel, CH / ASUAG
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Armbanduhr, Jelly Fish, 1985, Produktion: Swatch AG, Biel, CH / ASUAG
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Armbanduhren, Vegetable-Set, 1991, Entwurf: Alfred Hofkunst
Abbildung: Swatch Ldt.

Texte de l’expositiono
Montres-bracelets

Non seulement elles mesurent le temps, mais elles témoignent du goût de l’époque par leur caractère d’accessoires ornementaux. Les marques et les designers de montres suisses permettent de retracer l’histoire du design de la montre-bracelet, depuis le bijou traditionnel reçu en héritage jusqu’au symbole high-tech en passant par le produit de mode.