This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Weaving pattern for throw blanket, (untitled), ca. 1925
Gunta Stölzl
Weaving pattern for throw blanket, (untitled)
Gunta Stölzl,

Weaving pattern for throw blanket, (untitled),
ca. 1925

Gunta Stölzl
*1091
g1Z5
f Object e
[{"lat":47.38287244747688,"lng":8.535769174851453},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (untitled) Gunta Stölzl Weaving pattern for throw blanket
  • (untitled) Gunta Stölzl Weaving pattern for throw blanket
  • (untitled) Gunta Stölzl Weaving pattern for throw blanket
6
7
Listen to the text
j

Gunta Stölzl (1897–1983), a self-described Bauhaus master, was the only female workshop head at the Bauhaus in Dessau, taking charge of weaving from 1926 to 1931. The fabric sample shown here dates from this period and is part of a selection of the “structural fabrics” Bauhaus weavers were famous for.

The Decorative Arts Collection acquired this small selection of textiles from Gunta Stölzl’s own holdings in 1964, finding it representative of her work in Dessau on the specific demands of textile design. The fabric derives its appeal from the variable crossings of the threads and the different yarns employed, forming an exciting contrast between glossy and matte, light-reflecting and lusterless. The use of new fibers such as rayon (viscose), iron yarn (paraffin-treated cotton), or cellophane strips enabled technical innovations in the field of home textiles. Stölzl succeeded in combining fabric properties such as abrasion resistance or tensile strength with an aesthetically pleasing balance of color and form. When Gunta Stölzl emigrated to Switzerland in 1931, she brought her expertise to bear on her work for the company she cofounded in Zurich, S-P-H-Stoffe (Stölzl-Preiswerk-Hürlimann), which specialized in handweaving. In 1937, she became sole owner and changed the name to Handweberei Flora. Although Stölzl had produced sample pieces for industry during her Bauhaus years, when her explicit goal was the mechanical production of textiles, in the end it was only the handloom that gave her enough creative freedom “to develop an idea from experiment to experiment.” For thirty years she sold handwoven fabrics and tapestries in Zurich, pieces that were shown at, among others, the Swiss National Exhibition of 1939. (Franziska Müller-Reissmann)

Webmuster für Couchdecke, um 1925
Entwurf/Ausführung: Gunta Stölzl, Bauhaus Dessau, DE
Material/Technik: Baumwolle, Wolle, Köper- und Waffelbindung, handgewebt
20 x 14.5 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Magdalena Droste (Hg.), Gunta Stölzl. Weberei am Bauhaus und aus eigener Werkstatt, Ausstellungskatalog Bauhaus-Archiv, Berlin 1987.

Monika Stadler/Yael Aloni (Hg.), Gunta Stölzl. Bauhaus-Meister, Ostfildern 2009.

Image creditso

Webmuster für Couchdecke, um 1925, Entwurf/Ausführung: Gunta Stölzl, Bauhaus Dessau, DE
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Webmuster für Möbelbezug, um 1925, Entwurf/Ausführung: Textilklasse, Bauhaus Dessau, DE, Dozentin: Gunta Stölzl
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Webmuster, um 1929, Entwurf/Ausführung: Gunta Stölzl, Bauhaus Dessau, DE
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Korrespondenz, Gunta Stölzl an Erika Billeter, Kunstgewerbemuseum Zürich, 1964
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Wandbehang, um 1935, Entwurf/Ausführung: Gunta Stölzl, Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Textiles: Gunta Stölzl

The textiles from the collection of the Bauhaus master craftswoman Gunta Stölzl (1897–1983) are hand-woven templates for machine production from the Dessau textile workshop. The only woman among the young Bauhaus masters, Stölzl became director of the weaving workshop in 1927 and was responsible for its high-quality output. She succeeded in developing a convincing synthesis of technical skill and aesthetic form, imparting it to her students through her excellent teaching. In addition to experimenting with different materials and types of weaving, one of her stylistic hallmarks is the stripe, which allowed her to demonstrate the right proportions of forms and colors­­.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Motif de tissage pour jeté de canapé, (sans titre), vers 1925
Gunta Stölzl
Motif de tissage pour jeté de canapé, (sans titre)
Gunta Stölzl,

Motif de tissage pour jeté de canapé, (sans titre),
vers 1925

Gunta Stölzl
*1091
g1Z5
f Objet e
[{"lat":47.38287244747688,"lng":8.535769174851453},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (sans titre) Gunta Stölzl Motif de tissage pour jeté de canapé
  • (sans titre) Gunta Stölzl Motif de tissage pour jeté de canapé
  • (sans titre) Gunta Stölzl Motif de tissage pour jeté de canapé
6
7
Écouter le text
j

Gunta Stölzl (1897-1983), qui se qualifie elle-même de maître artisan du Bauhaus, est la seule femme à diriger de 1926 à 1931 l’atelier de tissage de la plus grande école de design de la modernité : le Bauhaus de Dessau. L’échantillon présenté ici date de cette époque et fait partie d’un lot de tissus structurés qui ont fait la célébrité de l’atelier de tissage du Bauhaus.

La collection d’arts décoratifs acquiert en 1964 ce lot de tissus en possession de Gunta Stölzl, qui est emblématique de son travail sur la spécificité de la création textile dans l’atelier de tissage de Dessau. Les tissus doivent leur charme à sa manière de croiser des fils très différents dans des contrastes de matériaux captivants, brillants ou mats, réfléchissant la lumière ou sourds. L’utilisation de nouvelles fibres, à l’instar de la soie artificielle (viscose), du fil glacé (toile de coton paraffinée) ou de bandelettes de cellophane débouche sur des inventions techniques dans le domaine des tissus d’ameublement. Gunta Stölzl parvient à associer les propriétés du tissage telles que résistance à la déchirure ou à l’abrasion à une esthétique équilibrée des formes et des couleurs. Lorsqu’elle émigre en Suisse en 1931, elle importe ses découvertes dans l’entreprise qu’elle y a déjà créée, S-P-H-Stoffe (Stölzl-Preiswerk-Hürlimann), spécialisée dans le tissage à la main. Elle la dirige seule à partir de 1937 sous le nom de Handweberei Flora. Si la tisserande a créé pendant ses années au Bauhaus des modèles destinés à l’industrie et à la production mécanique, le métier à tisser ne lui laisse finalement pas d’autre choix que « de continuer à développer une idée, d’expérimentation en expérimentation ». Pendant trois décennies, elle vend ainsi à Zurich ses étoffes et tapisseries tissées à la main, qui sont exposées entre autres lors de l’Exposition nationale suisse de 1939. (Franziska Müller-Reissmann)

Webmuster für Couchdecke, um 1925
Entwurf/Ausführung: Gunta Stölzl, Bauhaus Dessau, DE
Material/Technik: Baumwolle, Wolle, Köper- und Waffelbindung, handgewebt
20 x 14.5 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Magdalena Droste (Hg.), Gunta Stölzl. Weberei am Bauhaus und aus eigener Werkstatt, Ausstellungskatalog Bauhaus-Archiv, Berlin 1987.

Monika Stadler/Yael Aloni (Hg.), Gunta Stölzl. Bauhaus-Meister, Ostfildern 2009.

Légendeso

Webmuster für Couchdecke, um 1925, Entwurf/Ausführung: Gunta Stölzl, Bauhaus Dessau, DE
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Webmuster für Möbelbezug, um 1925, Entwurf/Ausführung: Textilklasse, Bauhaus Dessau, DE, Dozentin: Gunta Stölzl
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Webmuster, um 1929, Entwurf/Ausführung: Gunta Stölzl, Bauhaus Dessau, DE
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Korrespondenz, Gunta Stölzl an Erika Billeter, Kunstgewerbemuseum Zürich, 1964
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Wandbehang, um 1935, Entwurf/Ausführung: Gunta Stölzl, Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Gunta Stölzl – Tissus du Bauhaus

Les textiles de la collection de Gunta Stölzl (1897-1983), maître artisan du Bauhaus, sont des modèles issus de l’atelier de textile de Dessau, tissés à la main et destinés à la production mécanique. Gunta Stölzl devient la première et unique femme à diriger l’atelier de textile, dont elle garantit les productions de grande qualité à partir de 1927. Elle opère une synthèse convaincante entre savoir-faire technique et forme esthétique, qu’elle transmet à ses élèves grâce à ses talents pédagogiques. Outre l’utilisation de matériaux et d’armures variés, l’une de ses caractéristiques stylistiques est la rayure, à partir de laquelle elle démontre les proportions des formes et des couleurs.