This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Sunglasses, SDS 011, 2006
Markus DudliSandra Kaufmann
Sunglasses, SDS 011,
Markus Dudli, Sandra Kaufmann,

Sunglasses, SDS 011,
2006

Markus DudliSandra Kaufmann
*1086
g1Z1
[{"lat":47.38287426358981,"lng":8.535784262277161},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • SDS 011 Markus Dudli Sandra Kaufmann
  • SDS 011 Markus Dudli Sandra Kaufmann
6
7
Listen to the text
j

Glasses should be as invisible and as inconspicuous as possible for their wearer. For others, however, they are inseparably connected to a person’s face and style. With her eyeglass models, the designer Sandra Kaufmann (b. 1972) manages to meet the demands of both functionality and fashion.

Eyeglasses are quite straightforward from a technical standpoint. As long as the correct ergonomic dimensions are given, such as the width of the head, the interpupillary distance, and the nose width, their form has few constraints and tends to be oriented on the idiom and laws of fashion. “We work with tenths of a millimeter,” says Sandra Kaufmann. Kaufmann (b. 1972) trained as an industrial designer in Zurich and then worked in various design studios, including with eyewear designer Alain Mikli in Paris. After returning to Switzerland, she boldly launched her own eyewear collection. The market seemed saturated, and yet she and her business partner, the master optician Markus Dudli, managed to build a successful eyewear brand. The first collection brought out by Strada del Sole provided functional added value. Kaufmann and Dudli experimented for over a year and a half to produce sunglasses with maximum flatness. With spring tension temples, the glasses can be folded like a hair clip in two places. Closed and with the temples folded in, they are so flat that they can be carried in a back pocket. The bar above the bridge is easy to open and the lenses easy to change. Laser-cut from thin sheet metal, the rim, temples, bridge, and bar are all made in Switzerland, where numerous companies still produce precision mechanical parts for the watch industry. Since 2015, Sandra Kaufmann has worked with the artist Monika Fink to develop colored acetate frames with patented hinges and exchangeable twin-steel arms for their new label Sol Sol Ito. (Renate Menzi)

Sonnenbrille, SDS 011, 2006
Entwurf: Sandra Kaufmann, Markus Dudli
Produktion: Strada del Sole GmbH, Zürich, CH
Material/Technik: Federstahl, geätzt und in Form gebogen (Gestell); Polyamid (Nylon) (Gläser), Silikon (Nasenpads)
14 × 4,9 × 3,5 cm
Donation: Sandra Kaufmann
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich (Hg.), 100 Jahre Schweizer Design, Zürich 2014, S. 354.

Meret Ernst, «Selbst gebügelte Sonnenbrille», in: Hochparterre 20 (2007), Heft 8, S. 26f.

www.stradadelsole.ch

Image creditso

Sonnenbrille, SDS 011, 2006, Entwurf: Sandra Kaufmann, Markus Dudli, Donation: Sandra Kaufmann
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Sonnenbrille, SDS 011, 2006, Entwurf: Sandra Kaufmann, Markus Dudli, Donation: Sandra Kaufmann
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Sonnenbrille, Sol Sol Ito 027 AL, 2016, Entwurf: Sandra Kaufmann, Monika Fink
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Eyeglasses

For their wearer they should be as inconspicuous as possible and fit well. For everyone else, eyeglasses merge with a face to help form a person’s character. This dual function is the basis for their design: seeing or protection demands an ergonomic fit; being seen demands social distinction. A good pair of eyeglasses is able to combine both functions.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Lunettes de soleil, SDS 011, 2006
Markus DudliSandra Kaufmann
Lunettes de soleil, SDS 011
Markus Dudli, Sandra Kaufmann,

Lunettes de soleil, SDS 011,
2006

Markus DudliSandra Kaufmann
*1086
g1Z1
f Objet e
[{"lat":47.38287426358981,"lng":8.535784262277161},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • SDS 011 Markus Dudli Sandra Kaufmann Lunettes de soleil
  • SDS 011 Markus Dudli Sandra Kaufmann Lunettes de soleil
6
7
Écouter le text
j

Pour ceux qui les portent, les lunettes doivent passer aussi inaperçues que possible et se faire oublier, pour ceux qui les regardent, elles sont indissociablement liées au visage et au style d’une personne. C’est dans ce champ entre fonctionnalité et mode que se positionne la créatrice Sandra Kaufmann (née en 1972).

D’un point de vue technologique, les lunettes n’ont rien de compliqué. Une fois que l’on a respecté les mesures ergonomiques nécessaires telles que la largeur de la tête, la distance entre les yeux et la largeur du nez, leur forme est libre et s’inspire plutôt du vocabulaire et des lois de la mode. « C’est un travail au dixième de millimètre » dit Sandra Kaufmann (née en 1972). Après avoir suivi des études de design industriel à Zurich, elle travaille dans diverses agences de design, notamment pour le designer de lunettes parisien Alain Mikli. Après son retour en Suisse, Sandra Kaufmann lance sa première collection. Le marché semble saturé, mais avec son partenaire commercial, l’opticien Markus Dudli, elle arrive à développer sa marque avec succès. La première collection de Strada del Sole offre une plus-value fonctionnelle. Sandra Kaufmann et Markus Dudli cherchent pendant un an et demi des solutions pour fabriquer des lunettes de soleil les plus plates possible. Les branches, grâce à la tension flexible créée par leur fente médiane, peuvent se plier en deux positions à l’instar d’une barrette à cheveux. En position fermée, les branches rabattues à l’intérieur, les lunettes sont si plates qu’elles peuvent se glisser dans la poche arrière d’un pantalon. La barre au-dessus du pont peut s’ouvrir légèrement et les verres sont interchangeables. Le cercle fin en fer-blanc découpé au laser, les branches et les barres sont fabriqués en Suisse, où de nombreuses entreprises produisent des pièces détachées pour la mécanique de précision horlogère. En 2015, Sandra Kaufmann lance sa nouvelle marque Sol Sol Ito, issue de sa coopération avec l’artiste Monika Fink. Elle propose des lunettes en plastique coloré avec tenons brevetés et doubles branches en acier interchangeables. (Renate Menzi)

Sonnenbrille, SDS 011, 2006
Entwurf: Sandra Kaufmann, Markus Dudli
Produktion: Strada del Sole GmbH, Zürich, CH
Material/Technik: Federstahl, geätzt und in Form gebogen (Gestell); Polyamid (Nylon) (Gläser), Silikon (Nasenpads)
14 × 4,9 × 3,5 cm
Donation: Sandra Kaufmann
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich (Hg.), 100 Jahre Schweizer Design, Zürich 2014, S. 354.

Meret Ernst, «Selbst gebügelte Sonnenbrille», in: Hochparterre 20 (2007), Heft 8, S. 26f.

www.stradadelsole.ch

Légendeso

Sonnenbrille, SDS 011, 2006, Entwurf: Sandra Kaufmann, Markus Dudli, Donation: Sandra Kaufmann
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Sonnenbrille, SDS 011, 2006, Entwurf: Sandra Kaufmann, Markus Dudli, Donation: Sandra Kaufmann
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Sonnenbrille, Sol Sol Ito 027 AL, 2016, Entwurf: Sandra Kaufmann, Monika Fink
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Lunettes

Pour ceux qui les portent, elles doivent passer aussi inaperçues que possible et se faire oublier. Pour tous les autres, les lunettes se fondent avec un visage pour former un portrait. Cette double fonction dicte le principe de leur design : la vue comme la protection exigent une ligne ergonomique, le fait qu’elles soient vues impose de répondre à un impératif de distinction sociale. Une bonne paire de lunettes doit unir les deux fonctions.