This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Garlic press, Zylyss, ca. 1950
Karl Zysset
Garlic press, Zylyss,
Karl Zysset,

Garlic press, Zylyss,
ca. 1950

Karl Zysset
*1003
g1C1
[{"lat":47.38290264034604,"lng":8.535632717467706},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Zylyss Karl Zysset
  • Zylyss Karl Zysset
  • Zylyss Karl Zysset
6
7
Listen to the text
j

Karl Zysset (1907–1988) was not only the inventor of the garlic press, he also developed many other useful kitchen utensils and founded the company Zyliss AG to manufacture and distribute them. The company’s simple, well-designed mechanical utensils were found in Swiss kitchens until the 1980s. In 1982, the company was sold to investors and production was relocated to Asia.

Karl Zysset (1907–1988) came up with his first inventions while a bicycle mechanic and proprietor of the Velohaus Zysset in Lyss: a foldout, side-mounted kickstand and a luggage rack. Nothing is known today about Zysset’s garlic consumption, but around 1950 he developed a simple device for pressing garlic cloves into a fine puree, similar to a juice press. This first garlic press featured slightly curved aluminum handles that lay comfortably in the hand just like a bicycle brake. It consists of three parts: a lever with a piston and a cylinder with a perforated bottom. The garlic clove is placed in the cylinder and pressed through the small holes in the bottom by the force of the lever. The simple practicality and convincing ergonomics of the utensil impressed the jury of the Swiss Werkbund, which awarded it the “Die gute Form” seal in 1952. Zysset gave up the bicycle shop and founded Zylyss (a combination of his family name and the company’s location, later changed to “Zyliss”), subsequently devoting himself to the development, manufacture, and sale of kitchen utensils. In addition to citrus juicers with rotating and lever mechanisms, along with bread and sausage slicing machines, Zysset was also responsible for two additional world-renowned technical innovations: the salad spinner and the onion chopper (1953). The latter, with the slogan “Zick-Zick-Zyliss,” made the company name synonymous with Swiss kitchen utensils in the 1960s. (Renate Menzi)

Knoblauchpresse, Zylyss, um 1950
Entwurf: Karl Zysset
Herstellung: Zysset & Co., Lyss, CH
Vertrieb: Reist & Co., Bern, CH
Material/Technik: Aluminium
3.5 × 5 × 19 cm
Donation: Knecht Arredamenti, Locarno, CH
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich (Hg.), 100 Jahre Schweizer Design, Zürich 2014, S. 154.

Roger Monnerat, «Karl Zysset und sein Blitzhacker», in: Work, die Zeitung der Gewerkschaft Unia, 20.11.2003.

Image creditso

Knoblauchpresse, Zylyss, um 1950, Entwurf: Karl Zysset, Donation: Knecht Arredamenti, Locarno, CH
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Fotografie, Produktgruppe Zysset & Co., um 1950, SWB-Fotosammlung von gutem Gebrauchsgerät
Dauerleihgabe: Schweizerischer Werkbund (SWB)
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Hacken Zyliss, 1981, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Reinhard Morscher
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Raffeln Zyliss, 1981, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Reinhard Morscher
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Pressen Zyliss, 1981, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Reinhard Morscher
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Aluminum

Because its manufacture requires a large amount of electricity, aluminum is considered a “Swiss raw material.” In 1888, Europe’s first hydro-powered aluminum plant was put into operation in Neuhausen. The lightweight metal became cheaper and, after being adopted by the aircraft industry, made inroads into Swiss households. During World War II, aluminum replaced then-scarce steel and experienced a boom in field kitchens and elsewhere.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Presse-ail, Zylyss, vers 1950
Karl Zysset
Presse-ail, Zylyss,
Karl Zysset,

Presse-ail, Zylyss,
vers 1950

Karl Zysset
*1003
g1C1
[{"lat":47.38290264034604,"lng":8.535632717467706},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Zylyss Karl Zysset
  • Zylyss Karl Zysset
  • Zylyss Karl Zysset
6
7
Écouter le text
j

Karl Zysset (1907-1998) invente non seulement le presse-ail, mais aussi de nombreux autres ustensiles de cuisine et fonde la société Zyliss AG pour les produire et les commercialiser. Ses appareils, qui se distinguent par la qualité de leur design et de leur mécanique, se trouvent dans toutes les cuisines suisses jusque dans les années 1980. En 1982, la société est vendue à des investisseurs et délocalisée en Asie.

Les premières inventions de Karl Zysset (1907-1988) remontent à l’époque où il est mécanicien pour vélo et propriétaire du magasin de cycles Zysset à Lyss : une béquille latérale dépliable et un porte-bagages. On ignore tout de la consommation d’ail de Karl Zysset, mais il invente vers 1950 un appareil simple pour presser les gousses d’ail en purée, similaire à un presse-fruits. Le premier presse-ail, avec sa poignée en aluminium légèrement incurvée, offre une aussi bonne prise en main que le frein d’un vélo. Il se compose de trois éléments moulés : un levier à piston et un cylindre au fond perforé. La gousse est placée dans le cylindre et poussée par la force du levier à travers les petits trous du fond du cylindre. Sa sobriété et son ergonomie convainquent également le jury du SWB (Association suisse des artisans). En 1952, le presse-ail obtient le label « Die gute Form » (La bonne forme). Karl Zysset abandonne son magasin de cycles, fonde la société Zyliss (une association de son nom de famille et du site de production) et se consacre désormais entièrement à la conception, à la production et à la commercialisation d’ustensiles de cuisine. Outre des presse-fruits à levier ou à manivelle, des machines à découper la charcuterie ou le pain, Karl Zysset produit deux autres inventions célèbres dans le monde entier : l’essoreuse à salade et le coupe-oignons (1953). Ce dernier, promu par le slogan « Zick-Zick-Zyliss », offre à la société de devenir l’incarnation par excellence des ustensiles de cuisine suisses dans les années 1960. (Renate Menzi)

Knoblauchpresse, Zylyss, um 1950
Entwurf: Karl Zysset
Herstellung: Zysset & Co., Lyss, CH
Vertrieb: Reist & Co., Bern, CH
Material/Technik: Aluminium
3.5 × 5 × 19 cm
Donation: Knecht Arredamenti, Locarno, CH
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich (Hg.), 100 Jahre Schweizer Design, Zürich 2014, S. 154.

Roger Monnerat, «Karl Zysset und sein Blitzhacker», in: Work, die Zeitung der Gewerkschaft Unia, 20.11.2003.

Légendeso

Knoblauchpresse, Zylyss, um 1950, Entwurf: Karl Zysset, Donation: Knecht Arredamenti, Locarno, CH
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Fotografie, Produktgruppe Zysset & Co., um 1950, SWB-Fotosammlung von gutem Gebrauchsgerät
Dauerleihgabe: Schweizerischer Werkbund (SWB)
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Hacken Zyliss, 1981, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Reinhard Morscher
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Raffeln Zyliss, 1981, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Reinhard Morscher
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Pressen Zyliss, 1981, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Reinhard Morscher
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
L’aluminium

Parce que sa production requiert une grande quantité d’énergie électrique, l’aluminium est considéré comme une « matière première suisse ». En 1888, la première usine hydraulique d’aluminium d’Europe ouvre ses portes à Neuhausen. Le prix du métal léger baisse et, après avoir été utilisé dans la construction aéronautique, l’aluminium fait son entrée dans les foyers helvétiques. Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il en vient à remplacer l’acier, devenu rare, et connaît un boom bien au-delà de la cuisine roulante familière aux soldats.