This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Pillow cover, (untitled), ca. 1898
Liberty & Co. Ltd.
Pillow cover, (untitled),
Liberty & Co. Ltd.,

Pillow cover, (untitled),
ca. 1898

Liberty & Co. Ltd.
*1072
g1V3
[{"lat":47.38292239055933,"lng":8.53570748404411},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (untitled) Liberty & Co. Ltd.
  • (untitled) Liberty & Co. Ltd.
6
7
Listen to the text
j

This velveteen pillow cover from Liberty & Co. illustrates the Art Nouveau movement’s fascination with detailed floral decorations. The beguiling impression of depth of the central motif, a fully opened blossom, is enhanced by relief-like devoré contours and redolently undulating ripples.

For its technique of Liberty art velveteen, the London-based Liberty & Co.—in keeping with Belle Époque tastes—created decorative tableaus featuring fragrant and narcotic flowers on cotton velvet. The central poppy blossom image was executed in an oversize format and extended symmetrically along the horizontal and vertical axes into an elaborately stylized and idealized form that was ideally suited for a decorative wall hanging or pillow cover. The nearly circular center stands out from the dark background in an almost sculptural manner, outlined by the plant’s ornamentally stylized, two-dimensional leaves. In contrast, two blossoms in cross-section vigorously emerge from the central zone on outstretched stems, while heavy buds push out toward all four corners, underscoring the undeniable vitality of the plant. Liberty & Co. initially specialized in importing Asian art but quickly made a name for itself with its own creations for the clothing and home textile markets. The business on London’s Regent Street collaborated early on with artists of the Arts and Crafts movement. Some fabrics designed by William Morris are still produced by Liberty’s, as it is known today. The company name is associated so strongly with Art Nouveau that the movement is still known in Italy as “Stile Liberty” after the London firm. (Sabine Flaschberger)

Kissenplatte, um 1898
Herstellung: Liberty & Co. Ltd., London, GB
Material/Technik: Baumwollsamt, bemalt (Brandmalerei)
64 x 66 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Kunstgewerbemuseum Zürich, Erika Billeter (Hg.), Sammlungskatalog 1: Europäische Textilien, Zürich 1963.

Image creditso

Kissenplatte, um 1898, Herstellung: Liberty & Co. Ltd., London, GB
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Kissenplatte, um 1898, Herstellung: Liberty & Co. Ltd., London, GB
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Kissenplatte, um 1898, Herstellung: Liberty & Co. Ltd., London, GB
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Textiles: Liberty & Co. Ltd.

The London company Liberty & Co. (est. 1875) initially specialized in importing Asian art but soon began to bring its own clothing and home textiles onto the market. Liberty worked in the 1890s with designers such as William Morris and other representatives of the Arts and Crafts and Art Nouveau movements, and is closely associated with those styles as a result. The two pillow covers with their ornamental floral design are exemplary of the style spread by Liberty & Co.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Devant de coussin, (sans titre), vers 1898
Liberty & Co. Ltd.
Devant de coussin, (sans titre)
Liberty & Co. Ltd.,

Devant de coussin, (sans titre),
vers 1898

Liberty & Co. Ltd.
*1072
g1V3
f Objet e
[{"lat":47.38292239055933,"lng":8.53570748404411},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (sans titre) Liberty & Co. Ltd. Devant de coussin
  • (sans titre) Liberty & Co. Ltd. Devant de coussin
6
7
Écouter le text
j

Le devant de coussin Liberty & Co. en velours illustre parfaitement la fascination de l’Art nouveau pour les ornementations florales minutieusement restituées. L’effet de profondeur hypnotique de la fleur largement ouverte au centre est accentué par des contours gravés rappelant des courbes topographiques et des nappes d’effluves.

Pour la technique du Liberty art velveteen (Liberty velours), la maison de commerce londonienne Liberty & Co., s’alignant sur le goût de la Belle Époque, met en scène, sur du velours de coton, des fleurs semblant exhaler des parfums lourds aux effets narcotiques. Pouvant servir de décoration murale ou de devant de coussin, la grande fleur de pavot centrale est disposée au centre des axes vertical et horizontal et exécutée sous une forme excessivement idéalisée. Le centre presque rond se détache avec une grande plasticité du fond sombre, que délimitent les larges feuilles de la plante. Deux fleurs coupées sur de longues tiges s’élancent hors de la zone centrale, leur faisant écho, tandis que de gros boutons, preuves de la vitalité indomptable de la plante, s’enfoncent aux quatre coins. Liberty & Co. commence par se spécialiser dans l’import d’art asiatique, mais se fait rapidement un nom avec ses propres produits dans le secteur textile vestimentaire et d’ameublement. Le magasin de la Regent Street à Londres collabore pratiquement dès ses débuts avec des artistes du mouvement Arts and Crafts. Certaines étoffes de William Morris continuent même d’être fabriquées par Liberty’s – nom actuel la société. La forte identification de la compagnie avec les produits de l’Art nouveau explique que l’Art nouveau soit aujourd’hui encore appelé style Liberty en Italie. (Sabine Flaschberger)

Kissenplatte, um 1898
Herstellung: Liberty & Co. Ltd., London, GB
Material/Technik: Baumwollsamt, bemalt (Brandmalerei)
64 x 66 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Kunstgewerbemuseum Zürich, Erika Billeter (Hg.), Sammlungskatalog 1: Europäische Textilien, Zürich 1963.

Légendeso

Kissenplatte, um 1898, Herstellung: Liberty & Co. Ltd., London, GB
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Kissenplatte, um 1898, Herstellung: Liberty & Co. Ltd., London, GB
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Kissenplatte, um 1898, Herstellung: Liberty & Co. Ltd., London, GB
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Liberty & Co. Ltd. – Devants de coussin

Liberty & Co., société londonienne créée en 1875, commence par se spécialiser dans l’importation d’art asiatique, avant de lancer sur le marché ses propres articles vestimentaires et des tissus d’ameublement. Dans les années 1890, Liberty collabore avec des designers tels que William Morris et d’autres représentants du mouvement de l’Arts and Crafts ou de l’Art nouveau, de sorte qu’elle est par la suite étroitement associée à ce style. Les deux devants de coussin au dessin floral ornemental sont emblématiques du style Liberty & Co.