This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Poster, (ohne Text), 1970
Michael English
Poster, (ohne Text),
Michael English,

Poster, (ohne Text),
1970

Michael English
*1053
g1P9
[{"lat":47.38287676074497,"lng":8.53572894171623},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (ohne Text) Michael English
6
7
Listen to the text
j

The toothpaste tube is not rolled up neatly from the bottom. Instead, it’s been pressed so often in the middle that the contents are oozing out the splitting sides. The metallic sheen of the tube competes with the glints on the soft toothpaste. With this poster, the British graphic designer, artist, and musician Michael English (1941–2009) made a mundane tube of toothpaste the star of the show.

Michael English was one of the leading artists of the Swinging Sixties in England. He knew how to combine contemporary influences with stylistic elements from Art Nouveau, Japanese art, and Surrealism to striking effect. His art exerted a vital influence on the rebellious youth counterculture of the late sixties. Just as legendary as his posters for Pink Floyd and Jimi Hendrix (1942–1970) were his Pop Art posters. With the democratization of consumption in the early sixties and the rise of products sharing the same price and quality, the efforts by the proponents of the object poster to elevate standard goods to the status of unique objects of interest lost its credibility. The fascination of the fresh and unspent could no longer compensate for the lack of a one-of-a-kind aura. Soon thereafter, however, Pop Art artists would discover how to invest everyday objects with visual weight, while at the same time debunking them as mere disposable items. As damaged goods, they once again told a personal story. Symbolically charged but reduced in its formal aesthetic, the toothpaste tube assumes a magical presence and entices us to take a fresh look at something we see every day. The red-and-white squiggles, echoing the beauty ideal of red lips against white teeth, are imbued with a whimsical eroticism. By making the mass medium of the poster his own, English negated the traditional boundaries between high art and everyday culture. (Bettina Richter)

Plakat, (ohne Text), 1970
Erscheinungsland: Grossbritannien
Gestaltung: Michael English
Auftrag: Motif Editions, London, GB
Material/Technik: Offsetdruck
90 × 62 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Bettina Richter (Hg.), Magie der Dinge, Poster Collection 24, Zürich 2012

https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2009/oct/01/michael-english-obituary

Image creditso

Plakat, (ohne Text), 1970, Grossbritannien, Gestaltung: Michael English
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Signal, 2005, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Fabienne Burri, Donation: Fabienne Burri
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Michael English - Pop Art

Michael English (1941–2009) was one of the leading artists of the Swinging Sixties in England. His art had a major influence on the rebellious youth counterculture late in the decade. English’s Pop Art posters are legendary. In them, he underlines the visual impact of trivial everyday objects while at the same time debunking them as mere disposable products. By making the mass medium of the poster his own, English negated the traditional boundaries between high art and everyday culture.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Affiche, (ohne Text), 1970
Michael English
Affiche, (ohne Text),
Michael English,

Affiche, (ohne Text),
1970

Michael English
*1053
g1P9
[{"lat":47.38287676074497,"lng":8.53572894171623},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (ohne Text) Michael English
6
7
Écouter le text
j

Le tube de dentifrice n’est pas enroulé soigneusement depuis son extrémité. On l’a plutôt pressé de toutes parts jusqu’à ce que le contenu commence à sortir par les côtés explosés. L’éclat métallique du tube rivalise avec la blancheur éclatante du dentifrice. Avec cette affiche, Michael English (1941-2009), graphiste, artiste et musicien britannique, offre un triomphe à un banal tube de dentifrice.

Michael English fait partie des figures de proue de la scène artistique des Swinging Sixties anglaises. Il parvient à associer influences contemporaines et éléments stylistiques de l’Art nouveau, art japonais et surréalisme. Ce faisant, il influence la contre-culture de la jeunesse rebelle à la fin des années 1960. Ses affiches pour Pink Floyd, Jimi Hendrix (1942-1970) ou encore ses posters pop art sont légendaires. Avec la démocratisation de la consommation au début des années 1960 et l’augmentation du nombre de produits d’une même classe de prix et de qualité, le public ne répond plus aux efforts des graphistes de l’affiche objective de faire passer le produit sériel pour un objet unique. La fascination pour la nouveauté ne comble plus la perte d’aura de l’objet unique. Or, les artistes pop art redécouvrent peu après que les objets banals du quotidien sont dignes d’être représentés en images même lorsqu’ils les démasquent comme des produits jetables : objets mutilés, ils retrouvent alors une histoire individuelle. Chargé d’une grande force symbolique, bien que réduit à son esthétique formelle, le tube de dentifrice a une présence envoûtante et invite à regarder autrement un objet familier. La pâte rouge et blanche, qui reprend l’idéal esthétique du contraste des couleurs entre les lèvres et les dents, prend une force érotique étrange. Michael English s’approprie le média de masse qu’est l’affiche par l’angle artistique et, ce faisant, rejette les limites traditionnelles entre grand art et culture quotidienne. (Bettina Richter)

Plakat, (ohne Text), 1970
Erscheinungsland: Grossbritannien
Gestaltung: Michael English
Auftrag: Motif Editions, London, GB
Material/Technik: Offsetdruck
90 × 62 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Bettina Richter (Hg.), Magie der Dinge, Poster Collection 24, Zürich 2012

https://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/2009/oct/01/michael-english-obituary

Légendeso

Plakat, (ohne Text), 1970, Grossbritannien, Gestaltung: Michael English
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Signal, 2005, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Fabienne Burri, Donation: Fabienne Burri
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Michael English - Pop art

Michael English (1941-2009) est l’une des figures de proue des Swinging Sixties en Angleterre. L’artiste exerce une grande influence sur la contre-culture de la jeunesse rebelle de la fin des années 1960. Ses posters pop art sont légendaires. Il y défend l’idée que les objets du quotidien sont dignes d’être illustrés, même s’il les démasque simultanément comme des produits jetables. En considérant le média de masse qu’est l’affiche comme un outil artistique, Michael English récuse les frontières traditionnelles entre grand art et culture quotidienne.