This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Furnishing fabric, (untitled), 1906
Henry van de Velde
Furnishing fabric, (untitled)
Henry van de Velde,

Furnishing fabric, (untitled),
1906

*1077
g1W3
f Object e
[{"lat":47.38290876972334,"lng":8.53572022453693},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (untitled) Henry van de Velde Furnishing fabric
  • (untitled) Henry van de Velde Furnishing fabric
  • (untitled) Henry van de Velde Furnishing fabric
6
7
Listen to the text
j

The influential Art Nouveau artist Henry van de Velde (1863–1957) apparently considered this multicolored print fabric a good representative of his work in textiles, as in 1912–13 he presented it in the United States as part of the traveling exhibition German Applied Arts. From 1900, van de Velde devoted his attention to interior decoration, including home textiles that were designed to accompany his furniture, carpets, and decorative objects.

In contrast to woven fabrics such as jacquards, whose appeal comes from complex patterns of alternating flat passages and areas in slight relief, print fabrics like this one derive their interest from the design itself rather than the fabrication technique. Designed in 1906, this printed calico is a dense, smooth pre-woven furnishing fabric. Available in various colorways, the fabric was probably made by Hagener Textilindustrie AG using the roller printing process. The pattern of alternating ornamental circle motifs betrays Indonesian influences and was inspired by the aesthetics of Javanese batik, especially the Ceplok motif. Van de Velde’s reduced ornament, whether printed or woven, proposed a deliberate contrast to the organic plant motifs that dominated contemporary tastes. Hermann Muthesius, founder of the German Werkbund, called the Belgian designer the “father of the nonrepresentational pattern.” Inspired by observing ocean waves, van de Velde embraced the power of line itself, which would become a formal leitmotif of his design approach. His home textiles embody this approach with their symmetrical patterns, rhythmic arrangements, and carefully modulated color schemes. (Franziska Müller-Reissmann)

Dekorationsstoff, 1906
Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Herstellung: vermutlich Hagener Textilindustrie AG, DE
Material/Technik: Baumwolle, bedruckt
23.5 x 13.5 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Linda Tschöpe, Textilien, in: Thomas Föhl (Hg.), Leidenschaft, Funktion und Schönheit. Henry van de Velde und sein Beitrag zur europäischen Moderne, Ausst.-Kat. Neues Museum Weimar, Weimar 2013, S. 328–349.

Thomas Föhl/ Antje Neumann (Hg.), Henry van de Velde, Raumkunst und Kunsthandwerk. Ein Werkverzeichnis in sechs Bänden, Band II: Textilien, Weimar 2014.

Klaus-Jürgen Sempach/Birgit Schulte (Hg.), Henry van de Velde. Ein europäischer Künstler seiner Zeit, Köln 1992.

Image creditso

Dekorationsstoff, 1906, Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Möbel- und Dekorationsstoff, Tula, 1902, Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Möbelbezugsstoff, 1911, Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Dekorationsstoff, um 1905, Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Wandteppich, Die Engelwache, 1892, Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Zeichnung, Studie mit mehreren geöffneten Passionsblüten, Knospen und einem Blatt, um 1895, Ausführung: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Henry van de Velde – Furnishing Fabrics

In his zeal to reform the accoutrements of everyday life, Henry van de Velde (1863–1957) first dedicated himself to dress fabrics and then turned his attention in 1900 to the “artistic revival of the upholstery pattern.” Responding to increased demand for home textiles, he was soon producing yard goods with repeating patterns. Both the jacquard weaves in faux silk and the printed linen and cotton fabrics are characterized by the bold use of color and rhythmic patterns. Using different colorways, van de Velde designed dynamic ornament that strongly abstracts any borrowings from natural flora and fauna.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Tissu décoratif, (sans titre), 1906
Henry van de Velde
Tissu décoratif, (sans titre)
Henry van de Velde,

Tissu décoratif, (sans titre),
1906

*1077
g1W3
f Objet e
[{"lat":47.38290876972334,"lng":8.53572022453693},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (sans titre) Henry van de Velde Tissu décoratif
  • (sans titre) Henry van de Velde Tissu décoratif
  • (sans titre) Henry van de Velde Tissu décoratif
6
7
Écouter le text
j

Henry van de Velde (1863-1957), artiste influent de l’Art nouveau, considère manifestement lui-même que cette étoffe imprimée en couleurs est représentative de son œuvre textile, puisqu’il la présente dès 1912-1913 dans l’exposition itinérante German Applied Arts, organisée aux États-Unis. L’artiste se tourne à partir de 1900 vers la décoration intérieure, y compris les tissus d’ameublement qui doivent faire écho aux meubles, tapis et objets – également de sa main.

À l’inverse de l’ornementation tissée d’un jacquard, aux motifs complexes et juxtaposés où se succèdent de façon captivante des plages saillantes et plates, l’intérêt des textiles imprimés réside moins dans la technique utilisée que dans leur conception. Le tissu décoratif créé en 1906 est une cotonnade, une armure toile préfabriquée, dense et lisse, déclinée en différentes couleurs et imprimée au rouleau. Elle est sans doute fabriquée par la Textilindustrie AG de Hagen. Le dessin alterne des motifs curvilignes ornementaux, intègre des influences indonésiennes et s’inspire de l’esthétique des batiks javanais, en particulier du ceplok (rosace). L’ornementation épurée de Henry van de Velde, qu’elle soit imprimée ou tissée, se démarque résolument de la prédilection de son époque pour les décors végétaux. Hermann Muthesius, fondateur du Deutscher Werkbund (Association allemande des artisans), qualifie ainsi le Belge de « père du motif abstrait ». Il rend populaire la puissance de la ligne, qu’il copie du mouvement des vagues de la mer et qui devient le fil d’Ariane formel de son design. Les textiles d’ameublement en témoignent par la disposition symétrique des motifs, la structure rythmique et l’alternance subtile des couleurs. (Franziska Müller-Reissmann)

Dekorationsstoff, 1906
Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Herstellung: vermutlich Hagener Textilindustrie AG, DE
Material/Technik: Baumwolle, bedruckt
23.5 x 13.5 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Linda Tschöpe, Textilien, in: Thomas Föhl (Hg.), Leidenschaft, Funktion und Schönheit. Henry van de Velde und sein Beitrag zur europäischen Moderne, Ausst.-Kat. Neues Museum Weimar, Weimar 2013, S. 328–349.

Thomas Föhl/ Antje Neumann (Hg.), Henry van de Velde, Raumkunst und Kunsthandwerk. Ein Werkverzeichnis in sechs Bänden, Band II: Textilien, Weimar 2014.

Klaus-Jürgen Sempach/Birgit Schulte (Hg.), Henry van de Velde. Ein europäischer Künstler seiner Zeit, Köln 1992.

Légendeso

Dekorationsstoff, 1906, Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Möbel- und Dekorationsstoff, Tula, 1902, Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Möbelbezugsstoff, 1911, Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Dekorationsstoff, um 1905, Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Wandteppich, Die Engelwache, 1892, Entwurf: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Zeichnung, Studie mit mehreren geöffneten Passionsblüten, Knospen und einem Blatt, um 1895, Ausführung: Henry van de Velde
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Henry van de Velde – Tissus décoratifs

Après avoir fait des tissus vestimentaires, Henry van de Velde (1863-1957) se passionne à partir de 1900 pour le renouveau du quotidien et « la revitalisation artistique du tissu mobilier ». La demande croissante de textiles d’ameublement l’amène à concevoir des articles au mètre, ornés de motifs rapportés. Ses jacquards en soie artificielle et ses étoffes en lin ou en coton imprimés se distinguent par leurs couleurs intenses et le caractère très vivant de leurs dessins. Le designer crée des décors d’un grand dynamisme dans diverses combinaisons de teintes, pour lesquels il multiplie les emprunts à la faune et à la flore, systématiquement traités de façon abstraite.