This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Poster, Hope, 2008
Frank Shepard Fairley
Poster, Hope,
Frank Shepard Fairley,

Poster, Hope,
2008

Frank Shepard Fairey
*1036
g1J8
[{"lat":47.38282863373386,"lng":8.535706142939603},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Hope Frank Shepard Fairley
  • Hope Frank Shepard Fairley
  • Hope Frank Shepard Fairley
6
7
Listen to the text
j

With the iconic Hope poster that Frank Shepard Fairey (b. 1970) first created on his own initiative and distributed independently of Barack Obama’s official election campaign, the graphic artist attained worldwide fame. In Pop Art style, the poster compellingly visualizes the oversized hopes invested in Obama’s candidacy.

Known as a street artist and well-versed in guerilla marketing, Frank Shepard Fairey first attracted widespread attention with his Obey Giant sticker campaign in the 1990s. For his Obama poster, he used the national colors red, white, and blue, taking his cue from official US election posters. The model for his stencil portrait of Obama was a 2006 photograph Mannie Garcia took for the Associated Press that had been making its way through the internet. This borrowing resulted in a copyright dispute between Fairey and the news agency that went on for several years. Variations on the poster sporting the words “Progress” or “Change” were also circulated. In addition to the way it embodies the popular economy of image and text message, Fairey’s poster is fascinating for how it stylized a presidential candidate as an idol even before his election. Obama is shown here as a visionary. Instead of looking out at the viewer, his eyes gaze upward into higher spheres as he faces up to the grand mission of tackling the challenges ahead. This pictorial rhetoric led to Fairey’s poster being rapidly integrated into the official election campaign. The motif could soon be found on T-shirts, coffee mugs, and other promotional items. It was also widely copied, imitated, and varied, which was, after all, Fairey’s intention. In January 2009, immediately after Obama’s election victory, the National Portrait Gallery of the Smithsonian Institution acquired the poster for its collection, thus according it museum status. (Bettina Richter)

Plakat, Hope, 2008
Erscheinungsland: USA
Gestaltung: Frank Shepard Fairey
Porträtierte Person: Barack Hussein Obama Jr.
Auftrag: Obama for America, Chicago, US
Material/Technik: Inkjetdruck
48.5 × 33 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Bettina Richter (Hg.), Kopf an Kopf, Poster Collection 19, Zürich 2009

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barack_Obama_%22Hope%22_poster

Image creditso

Plakat, Hope, 2008, USA, Gestaltung: Frank Shepard Fairey
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Progress, 2008, USA, Gestaltung: Frank Shepard Fairey
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Change we can believe in – Obama '08, 2007, USA
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, A time for greatness – Kennedy for President, 1960, USA
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Political Portraits

Campaign posters draw on proven historical formulas. The smiling faces of George Bush Senior and Ronald Reagan promise security and try to inspire trust. The famous poster Hope shows Barack Obama with a visionary gaze in the style of a pop icon. Bernie Sanders is depicted only as a silhouette, quoting a poster portrait of Bob Dylan. The texts, too, speak for themselves: the intimate use of first name only turns a presidential candidate into a close friend, while the word “Hope” conveys a universal promise.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Affiche, Hope, 2008
Frank Shepard Fairley
Affiche, Hope
Frank Shepard Fairley,

Affiche, Hope,
2008

Frank Shepard Fairey
*1036
g1J8
f Objet e
[{"lat":47.38282863373386,"lng":8.535706142939603},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Hope Frank Shepard Fairley Affiche
  • Hope Frank Shepard Fairley Affiche
  • Hope Frank Shepard Fairley Affiche
6
7
Écouter le text
j

Avec son affiche emblématique « Hope », réalisée pour son propre compte et d’abord diffusée en marge de la campagne officielle d’Obama, Frank Shepard Fairey (né en 1970) atteint une célébrité mondiale. Inspirée par le pop art, l’affiche illustre parfaitement les espoirs immenses placés dans la candidature d’Obama.

Connu comme artiste de « street art » et familier du « guerilla marketing », Frank Shepard Fairey se fait remarquer dès les années 1990 avec sa campagne d’autocollants Obey Giant. Pour son affiche Obama réalisée dans les couleurs nationales, il s’inspire des affiches électorales américaines officielles. L’original de ce portrait de Barack Obama imprimé au pochoir est un cliché pris en 2006 par Mannie Garcia, photographe de l’Associated Press, et largement diffusé sur Internet. Cette reprise déclenche notamment un litige de plusieurs années entre Frank Shepard Fairey et l’agence de presse à propos des droits d’auteur. Des déclinaisons de l’affiche avec les titres Progress ou Change circulent également. Outre la concision du message textuel et iconographique, l’affiche séduit par le fait qu’un candidat à la présidence est transformé en idole avant même son élection. Obama est présenté comme un visionnaire. Son regard ne se dirige pas vers l’observateur, mais vers des sphères supérieures, tourné, tel un missionnaire, vers les défis qui l’attendent. Cette rhétorique visuelle conduit à intégrer rapidement l’affiche de Frank Shepard Fairey à la campagne. Le motif est aussi prestement reproduit sur des t-shirts, des tasses et autres supports publicitaires. De plus, il est copié, imité, varié à l’envi, ce qui correspond aux desseins de son créateur. En janvier 2009, juste après la victoire de Barack Obama, la Portrait Gallery de la Smithsonian Institution acquiert le portrait pour sa collection nationale, lui offrant ainsi les honneurs du musée. (Bettina Richter)

Plakat, Hope, 2008
Erscheinungsland: USA
Gestaltung: Frank Shepard Fairey
Porträtierte Person: Barack Hussein Obama Jr.
Auftrag: Obama for America, Chicago, US
Material/Technik: Inkjetdruck
48.5 x 33 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, Bettina Richter (Hg.), Kopf an Kopf, Poster Collection 19, Zürich 2009

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barack_Obama_%22Hope%22_poster

Légendeso

Plakat, Hope, 2008, USA, Gestaltung: Frank Shepard Fairey
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Progress, 2008, USA, Gestaltung: Frank Shepard Fairey
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Change we can believe in – Obama '08, 2007, USA
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, A time for greatness – Kennedy for President, 1960, USA
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Portrait d'hommes politiques

Les affiches électorales ont recours à des formules visuelles éprouvées. Les visages souriants de George Bush senior et de Ronald Reagan respirent la sécurité et sollicitent la confiance. La célèbre affiche « Hope » représente Barack Obama avec un regard visionnaire et en fait une icône de la pop. Bernie Sanders n’est plus qu’une silhouette, dans une composition citant une affiche de Bob Dylan. Les textes sont tout aussi évocateurs : l’utilisation du prénom d’un candidat à l’élection présidentielle en fait un ami proche, le mot Hope (espoir), à l’inverse, formule une promesse universelle.