This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Pillow cover, (untitled), 1922–1924
Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
Pillow cover, (untitled)
Ernst Ludwig Kirchner,

Pillow cover, (untitled),
1922–1924

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
*1089
g1Z4
[{"lat":47.38287244747698,"lng":8.535767163194691},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (untitled) Ernst Ludwig Kirchner Pillow cover
6
7
Listen to the text
j

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner’s (1880–1938) textile designs include a pillow cover populated by a profusion of dancing figures. With its subject matter and formal properties, this work is closely related to his paintings.

On his pillow cover Tanz (Dance), which dates from the early 1920s, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner depicted four female artistes in a variety show flinging their muscular limbs around as chatting spectators look on. The focus is squarely on the central figures. The movements of the dancers, who are performing various stages of the choreography, are echoed by the flurry of activity among the guests in the audience to create a scintillating scene full of life. Kirchner skillfully captures the cinematic simultaneity of various impressions, heightening it further with an Expressionist color scheme. He had long been studying dance as a motif as well as dancing figures—both male and female—and depicted their physicality in various media. After moving to the mountains near Davos in 1917, the erstwhile city-dweller sought new inspiration in the mountain world and alpine customs, and the visionary painter of Berlin street scenes and characters from the demimonde became a landscape painter. But he apparently still stole away from his isolated mountain aerie from time to time to drink in the urban milieu again—the pillow with the dance scene offers proof. Elsa Bosshart-Forrer, a resident of Davos, executed it for Kirchner—along with other textile works—in a congenial manner in dense petit point embroidery and hallucinogenic colors. (Sabine Flaschberger)

Kissenplatte, Tanz, 1922–1924
Entwurf: Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
Ausführung: Elsa Bosshart-Forrer
Material/Technik: Baumwolle, Wolle, Petit-Point-Stickerei
46.5 x 50 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Erika Billeter (Hg.), Kunstgewerbemuseum, Sammlungskatalog 1: Europäische Textilien, Zürich 1968 / o.J.

Image creditso

Kissenplatte, Tanz, 1922–1924, Entwurf: Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Ausführung: Elsa Bosshart-Forrer
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Kissenplatte, Alpsonntag, um 1928, Entwurf: Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Ausführung: Elsa Bosshart-Forrer
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Chaiselonguedecke, Alpaufzug, 1926, Entwurf: Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Ausführung: Lise Guyer
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Textiles: Pictorial Solutions

In 1917, the painter Ernst Ludwig Kirchner (1880–1938) moved to Davos, where folk motifs increasingly influenced his work. On the pillow cover Dance from the early twenties, the focus is instead on urban artistes. The scene, rendered in petit point by Elsy Bosshart-Forrer, derives its appeal from its expressionist color scheme and the cinematic movement of muscular limbs, while the alpine Sunday scene with its strong division into layers is conceived instead as a static idyllic setting.

These modern images bear a surprising resemblance to the Coptic weaving from the sixth to eighth century. The finely woven pieces show ecstatic dancers and, in analogy to the alpine fauna, the aquatic world of the Nile.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Devant de coussin, (sans titre), 1922–1924
Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
Devant de coussin, (sans titre),
Ernst Ludwig Kirchner,

Devant de coussin, (sans titre),
1922–1924

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
*1089
g1Z4
[{"lat":47.38287244747698,"lng":8.535767163194691},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (sans titre) Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
6
7
Écouter le text
j

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner (1880-1938) conçoit de nombreux projets textiles, dont le devant de coussin Tanz (Danse), abondamment peuplé de personnages. Que ce soit par le contenu ou la forme, ce travail est étroitement lié à son œuvre picturale.

Quatre danseuses dans un théâtre de variété, entourées de spectateurs bavardant, font jouer leurs muscles sur le devant de coussin d’Ernst Ludwig Kirchner exécuté au début des années 1920. Le regard est guidé vers les figures centrales. Le mouvement des danseuses, à des stades différents de la chorégraphie, fait contrepoids aux activités des hôtes dans leurs banquettes, pour former une scène vibrante de vie. Ernst Ludwig Kirchner saisit avec virtuosité cette simultanéité cinématographique des diverses impressions et la souligne grâce à une palette de couleurs expressionniste. L’artiste a longtemps étudié les danseurs – hommes comme femmes. Il fixe leur corporéité sur les supports les plus divers. Après s’être installé en montagne, près de Davos, en 1917, le citadin se tourne vers des motifs de l’univers alpestre et des coutumes alpines ; le peintre visionnaire des scènes de rue berlinoises et des demi-mondes se mue en peintre de paysage. Manifestement, il lui arrive de fuir la solitude des montagnes pour retrouver de temps à autre le milieu urbain, comme en témoigne le coussin aux danseuses. C’est Elsa Bosshart-Forrer, domiciliée à Davos, qui brode magistralement au petit point et dans des coloris psychédéliques cette œuvre, comme de nombreuses autres du peintre. (Sabine Flaschberger)

Kissenplatte, Tanz, 1922–1924
Entwurf: Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
Ausführung: Elsa Bosshart-Forrer
Material/Technik: Baumwolle, Wolle, Petit-Point-Stickerei
46.5 × 50 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Erika Billeter (Hg.), Kunstgewerbemuseum, Sammlungskatalog 1: Europäische Textilien, Zürich 1968 / o.J.

Légendeso

Kissenplatte, Tanz, 1922–1924, Entwurf: Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Ausführung: Elsa Bosshart-Forrer
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Kissenplatte, Alpsonntag, um 1928, Entwurf: Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Ausführung: Elsa Bosshart-Forrer
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Chaiselonguedecke, Alpaufzug, 1926, Entwurf: Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Ausführung: Lise Guyer
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Ernst Ludwig Kirchner et les Coptes

En 1917, le peintre Ernst Ludwig Kirchner (1880-1938) s’installe à Davos, où les motifs traditionnels influencent son œuvre. Sur le devant de coussin Tanz (Danse), conçu au début des années 1920, il imagine toutefois des danseuses citadines. La palette de couleurs expressionnistes et le mouvement presque cinématographique des membres musclés des danseurs donnent vie à la scène brodée au petit point par Elsa Bosshart-Forrer, tandis que le dimanche alpin, avec son étagement des différentes scènes, est agencé comme une idylle statique.

Cette iconographie moderne entretient une relation inattendue avec la bonneterie copte du vie au viiie siècle. Les textiles finement tissés montrent des danseuses extatiques et le monde aquatique du Nil – pendant de la faune alpine