This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Advertising brochure, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag, 1952
Gérard Ifert
Advertising brochure, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag
Gérard Ifert,

Advertising brochure, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag,
1952

Gérard Ifert
*1058
g1Q5
f Object e
[{"lat":47.3828837981816,"lng":8.535716201223295},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag Gérard Ifert Advertising brochure
  • Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag Gérard Ifert Advertising brochure
6
7
Listen to the text
j

To this day, print advertising for prescription drugs does not target patients directly but rather the medical professionals who issue prescriptions. Certain brochures produced by the Basel pharmaceutical company Geigy enjoyed great popularity in doctors’ waiting rooms because they were beautifully designed as well as interesting in content. One such example is the moon brochure series created by Gérard Ifert in 1952, which was sent to doctors as a reminder to prescribe the sleeping pill Medomin.

Doctors are regarded as well-educated and interested in culture. René Rudin, director of the Geigy propaganda department from 1941 to 1970, shared this view. Using company advertising that was both factually informative and artistically superior, he persistently tried to boost the medical professionals’ demand for Geigy medications. This included advertising cards delivered in the mail, sample packages, and scientific publications with advertising interspersed with the articles. The tranquilizer and sleeping pill Medomin, which was launched in 1942, was an international best seller on into the 1960s, even though doctors had to be constantly reminded of it. Nothing was better for this purpose than sending staggered, personally addressed brochures that disclosed the secrets of the sleep-robbing moon in stages. The six enchanting brochures, designed by Gérard Ifert, contain philosophical, astronomical, and historical cultural views of the natural satellite that are designed to appeal to both the scientific concerns and aesthetic tastes of the typical doctor. Each one of the brochure covers shows a moon phase, accentuated by the recurring slogan “geheimnisvoller Mond” (mysterious moon) in Akzidenz-Grotesk typeface. The adjoined covers reveal a photographic sequence of the waxing and waning moon, in the hopes that the doctor would want to save the complete series. The faces of women sleeping peacefully on the back of the brochures remind the doctor that Medomin helps to counter the insomnia-inducing force of the moon. (Barbara Junod)

Werbebroschüre, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag, 1952
Gestaltung: Gérard Ifert
Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH
Material/Technik: Papier, Buchdruck
21 x 10 cm
Donation: Gérard Ifert, Jörg Hamburger
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Andres Janser, Barbara Junod (Hg.), Corporate Diversity, 2009, S. 16, 32–39, 122–127, 138–141.

Interview von B. Junod und A. Janser mit Gérard Ifert am Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, 8. Dezember 2004

Image creditso

Werbebroschüre, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag, 1952, Gestaltung: Gérard Ifert, Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH, Donation: Gérard Ifert, Jörg Hamburger
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Werbebroschüren, Titel- und Rückseiten 1 bis 3 aus einer Serie von 6, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 bis 3 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag, 1952, Gestaltung: Gérard Ifert, Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH, Donation: Gérard Ifert, Jörg Hamburger
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Werbebroschüren, Titel- und Rückseiten 4 bis 6 aus einer Serie von 6, Geheimnisvoller Mond 4 bis 6 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag, 1952, Gestaltung: Gérard Ifert, Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH, Donation: Gérard Ifert, Jörg Hamburger
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Geigy Design - Medomin

During the boom in pharmaceuticals in the 1950s, the Basel chemical company J.R. Geigy AG (1758–1970) started investing a great deal of money in advertising its products. Since consumer advertising for prescription drugs was not allowed, most of Geigy’s ad campaigns targeted the physicians writing the prescriptions. For its tranquilizer and sleeping aid Medomin, Geigy created factual and informative advertisements at a high artistic level to keep the medication ever-present in the minds of this pampered clientele.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Brochure publicitaire, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag, 1952
Gérard Ifert
Brochure publicitaire, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag
Gérard Ifert,

Brochure publicitaire, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag,
1952

Gérard Ifert
*1058
g1Q5
f Objet e
[{"lat":47.3828837981816,"lng":8.535716201223295},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag Gérard Ifert Brochure publicitaire
  • Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag Gérard Ifert Brochure publicitaire
6
7
Écouter le text
j

Aujourd’hui encore, la publicité imprimée pour les médicaments délivrés sur ordonnance ne s’adresse pas aux patients, mais aux médecins qui les prescrivent. Certaines brochures de l’entreprise bâloise Geigy sont très populaires dans les salles d’attente des cabinets médicaux, parce qu’elles sont non seulement d’une grande qualité esthétique, mais aussi intéressantes. En témoigne la série exécutée par Gérard Ifert en 1952, dans laquelle la lune doit faire penser au somnifère Medomin.

Les médecins sont considérés comme des gens cultivés s’intéressant à la culture. Une idée que partage René Rudin, directeur du service « propagande » de Geigy entre 1941 et 1970. Il cherche à relancer la demande de médicaments Geigy dans le milieu médical, en proposant une publicité factuelle et esthétique, dont des cartes publicitaires envoyées par poste, des échantillons ou des publications scientifiques truffées de publicité. Le Medomin, un calmant et somnifère lancé en 1942, est internationalement le produit phare de l’entreprise jusque dans les années 1960, ce qu’il faut toutefois rappeler à plusieurs reprises au bon souvenir des clients. Rien ne s’y prête mieux que l’envoi échelonné et personnalisé de brochures divulguant peu à peu les secrets de la lune et de ses effets perturbateurs sur le sommeil. Les six fascicules que conçoit Gérard Ifert attirent irrésistiblement. Ils contiennent des articles philosophiques, astronomiques et culturels sur le satellite naturel, qui interpellent à la fois la curiosité scientifique et la sensibilité esthétique des médecins. Chacune des couvertures montre une phase lunaire, soulignée par le slogan publicitaire « La mystérieuse lune » en Akzidenz-Grotesk. La collection complète compose une série photographique de la croissance et de la décroissance de la planète, incitant les médecins à la conserver. Les visages féminins dormant sereinement en quatrième de couverture leur rappellent que le Medomin remédie aux effets perturbateurs de la lune sur le sommeil. (Barbara Junod)

Werbebroschüre, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag, 1952
Gestaltung: Gérard Ifert
Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH
Material/Technik: Papier, Buchdruck
21 x 10 cm
Donation: Gérard Ifert, Jörg Hamburger
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Andres Janser, Barbara Junod (Hg.), Corporate Diversity, 2009, S. 16, 32–39, 122–127, 138–141.

Interview von B. Junod und A. Janser mit Gérard Ifert am Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, 8. Dezember 2004

Légendeso

Werbebroschüre, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag, 1952, Gestaltung: Gérard Ifert, Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH, Donation: Gérard Ifert, Jörg Hamburger
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Werbebroschüren, Titel- und Rückseiten 1 bis 3 aus einer Serie von 6, Geheimnisvoller Mond 1 bis 3 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag, 1952, Gestaltung: Gérard Ifert, Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH, Donation: Gérard Ifert, Jörg Hamburger
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Werbebroschüren, Titel- und Rückseiten 4 bis 6 aus einer Serie von 6, Geheimnisvoller Mond 4 bis 6 – Medomin schlafbringend in der Nacht beruhigend am Tag, 1952, Gestaltung: Gérard Ifert, Auftrag: J. R. Geigy AG, Basel, CH, Donation: Gérard Ifert, Jörg Hamburger
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Design de Geigy - Medomin

À partir des années 1950, le groupe chimique bâlois J. R. Geigy AG (1758-1970) investit massivement dans la publicité du secteur pharmaceutique, alors en plein essor. La publicité des biens de consommation étant interdite pour les médicaments délivrés sur ordonnance, la plupart des campagnes de Geigy s’adressent aux médecins prescripteurs. Le Medomin, un calmant et somnifère, interpelle cette clientèle choyée à l’aide de supports factuels informatifs et d’un design de grande qualité.