This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Sugar bowl, (untitled), 1903
Charles Robert Ashbee
Sugar bowl, (untitled)
Charles Robert Ashbee,

Sugar bowl, (untitled),
1903

Charles Robert Ashbee
*1002
g1B4
f Object e
[{"lat":47.38292057444807,"lng":8.535650487102544},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (untitled) Charles Robert Ashbee Sugar bowl
  • (untitled) Charles Robert Ashbee Sugar bowl
  • (untitled) Charles Robert Ashbee Sugar bowl
6
7
Listen to the text
j

With his squat yet elongated silver sugar bowl, Charles Robert Ashbee (1863–1942) created a vivid embodiment of the mindset of the Guild of Handicraft that he had inspired. Despite its sleek overall shape, the bowl boasts precious details crafted meticulously by hand.

The silver objects produced by the multitalented English designer Charles Robert Ashbee for the tables of the haute bourgeoisie consist of elaborate creations such as this elegant sugar bowl. The main attraction for both hand and eye is the lid with its knob in the shape of a hollowed-out poppy capsule. A mother-of-pearl inlay enriches this knob with a bright crown, which stands out as particularly decorative against the lid’s enameled inlay through which creased silver foil shines through. The oversize handles that jut far out to either side arise organically from the round base and flow back into the upper edge of the bowl. Their upward bulge fits perfectly in the hand. An inlay of green glass protects the interior of the metal vessel from oxidative substances such as sugar. Exterior fingerprints and other markings were unavoidable and only removable through polishing. Trained as an architect, Ashbee worked as an interior designer, silversmith, craftsman, art theoretician, and poet. In 1888, he encouraged the founding of the School of Handicraft and the affiliated Guild of Handicraft as a way for English craftsmen to cooperate in the production and dissemination of modern, high-quality handmade objects of daily use as counterparts to industrial mass-produced goods. Similar organizations on the European continent followed the model of this craft guild, such as the Wiener Werkstätte and the Manufaktur Amstelhoek in Omval near Amsterdam. (Sabine Flaschberger)

Zuckerdose mit Deckel, 1903
Entwurf: Charles Robert Ashbee
Herstellung: Guild of Handicraft, London, GB
Material/Technik: Silber, getrieben, ziseliert, emailliert; Perlmutt; Glas
10 x 24 x 10.8 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Sigrid Barten (Hg.), Um 1900. Verborgene Schätze aus der Sammlung des Museums Bellerive, Zürich 1999.

Alan Crawford, C.R. Ashbee – Architect, Designer and Romantic Socialist, 1985.

Image creditso

Zuckerdose mit Deckel, 1903, Entwurf: Charles Robert Ashbee
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Zuckerdose mit Deckel, (geöffnet), um 1903, Entwurf: Charles Robert Ashbee
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Senftopf mit Löffel, um 1903, Entwurf: Charles Robert Ashbee
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Deckelpokal, 1903, Entwurf: Charles Robert Ashbee
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Metal: Sugar Bowls and Creamers

The tasteful tea and coffee service was a key attribute for any stylish household around the turn of the last century, retaining its place in upscale home decor during the following decades. These metal objects exemplifying this luxury period tableware show various design approaches in silver and brass that made their way from England to Denmark and then to Switzerland. Designers regarded such exquisite handcrafted items as the better alternative to mass-produced goods.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Sucrier, (sans titre), 1903
Charles Robert Ashbee
Sucrier, (sans titre)
Charles Robert Ashbee,

Sucrier, (sans titre),
1903

Charles Robert Ashbee
*1002
g1B4
f Objet e
[{"lat":47.38292057444807,"lng":8.535650487102544},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (sans titre) Charles Robert Ashbee Sucrier
  • (sans titre) Charles Robert Ashbee Sucrier
  • (sans titre) Charles Robert Ashbee Sucrier
6
7
Écouter le text
j

Le sucrier en argent de Charles Robert Ashbee (1863-1942) illustre parfaitement la pensée qu’il veut insuffler dans la Guild of Handicraft, créée à son initiative. Si sa forme se distingue par sa sobriété, les détails précieux résultent d’un long travail manuel.

Charles Robert Ashbee, artiste anglais aux mille talents, exécute de nombreux objets sophistiqués pour les tables bourgeoises, tel cet élégant sucrier. L’œil et la main sont attirés avant tout par la structure d’une capsule de pavot posée sur le couvercle. Une incrustation de nacre ennoblit ce bouton d’une couronne claire, dont la beauté se détache sur l’inclusion émaillée sur feuille d’argent froissée. Les anses incurvées et surdimensionnées jaillissent organiquement du pied rond et se jettent dans le bord supérieur du sucrier. Bombées, elles offrent une forme parfaite à la main. Une incrustation de verre de couleur verte protège l’intérieur du récipient métallique des substances oxydantes telles que le sucre. Il est impossible d’éviter les empreintes de doigt et autres traces, que seul un produit nettoyant peut faire disparaître. Charles Robert Ashbee, architecte diplômé, se fait architecte d’intérieur, orfèvre, artisan d’art, théoricien de l’art et poète. Il initie en 1888 la School of Handicraft ainsi que la Guild of Handicraft, qui lui est corrélée. Cette guilde d’artisans d’art anglais produit et propage des objets utilitaires modernes de grande qualité, à l’antipode des produits de masse industriels. Elle influence des fondations similaires sur le continent européen, à l’instar de la Wiener Werkstätte (Atelier Viennois) ou de la manufacture Amstelhoek d’Omval dans la banlieue d’Amsterdam. (Sabine Flaschberger)

Zuckerdose mit Deckel, 1903
Entwurf: Charles Robert Ashbee
Herstellung: Guild of Handicraft, London, GB
Material/Technik: Silber, getrieben, ziseliert, emailliert; Perlmutt; Glas
10 x 24 x 10.8 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Sigrid Barten (Hg.), Um 1900. Verborgene Schätze aus der Sammlung des Museums Bellerive, Zürich 1999.

Alan Crawford, C.R. Ashbee – Architect, Designer and Romantic Socialist, 1985.

Légendeso

Zuckerdose mit Deckel, 1903, Entwurf: Charles Robert Ashbee
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Zuckerdose mit Deckel, (geöffnet), um 1903, Entwurf: Charles Robert Ashbee
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Senftopf mit Löffel, um 1903, Entwurf: Charles Robert Ashbee
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Deckelpokal, 1903, Entwurf: Charles Robert Ashbee
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Crème et sucre

Le fait de posséder un service à thé ou à café de bon goût est un attribut important pour tout ménage sensible à la mode au tournant du xxe siècle, de même que dans la culture bourgeoise des décennies suivantes. Les objets en métal – argent ou laiton –, qui magnifient les produits culinaires de luxe de l’époque, présentent différentes positions stylistiques anglaises et danoises, voire suisses : ces objets utilitaires de grande qualité sont considérés par les designers comme l’antithèse des produits de masse industriels.