This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Poster, Moby Dick, 1968
Antonio Reboiro
Poster, Moby Dick
Antonio Reboiro,

Poster, Moby Dick,
1968

Antonio Reboiro
*1061
g1Q9
f Object e
[{"lat":47.38288538728003,"lng":8.53571385429052},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Moby Dick Antonio Reboiro Poster
  • Moby Dick Antonio Reboiro Poster
6
7
Listen to the text
j

John Huston’s (1906–1987) legendary 1954 film adaptation of the novel Moby Dick came to cinemas in postrevolutionary Cuba in the late 1960s. Antonio Reboiro (b. 1935) condensed the plot into a luminous image that recounts not the horrors but rather interprets Hermann Melville’s (1819–1891) novel in a completely different way.

After the revolution of 1959, the Cuban poster took on a radically new appearance that was directly related to the country’s political transformation. Walls on the Caribbean island, formerly plastered with commercial posters and banal election propaganda, were now densely hung with colorful, sensual posters. This movie poster, sponsored by the Cuban film institute ICAIC, represented the most consistent development of the new aesthetic. Liberated from the pressures of creating the basis for the film’s commercial success with the poster, designers were able to exercise complete artistic freedom, capturing their immediate impressions of the film in associative images. This also involved appropriating international avant-garde movements, as is evident from Antonio Reboiro’s poster. Pop Art and the psychedelic poster with its ornamental lettering were the inspiration here. The bold, saturated colors of the screen print further reinforce the poster’s effect. Instead of depicting the film’s content, the Cuban designers managed to condense its subject into a symbol that invariably included their own interpretation. Captain Ahab’s mission to take revenge on Moby Dick for destroying his leg fails miserably. Other posters for Melville’s novel center on the menace of the whale and portray Captain Ahab as a victim. With Reboiro, though, the forces of nature—symbolized by the glaring sun, the stormy sea, and the huge whale fin—triumph over the human obsession to try to master them. (Bettina Richter)

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1968
Erscheinungsland: Kuba
Gestaltung: Antonio Reboiro
Auftrag: Instituto Cubano de Arte e Industria Cinematográficos, Havanna, CU
Material/Technik: Siebdruck
76.5 x 51 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Edmundo Desnoes, Cubaanse affiches, Amsterdam 1971.

Jesus Vega, El cartel cubano de cinemateca de Cuba, Havanna 1996

Image creditso

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1968, Kuba, Gestaltung: Antonio Reboiro
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Moby Dick, 2011, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Paula Troxler, Donation: Paula Troxler
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1960, Tschechoslowakei, Gestaltung: Jiři Balcar, Donation: Peter Leuenberger
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Cuban Film

Liberated from the pressure of ensuring the commercial success of the film, the Cuban movie poster captivates with its great artistic freedom and associative images. The reduction of the film’s subject to symbols is the great achievement and typical characteristic of this poster tradition. For his Moby Dick poster, Antonio Reboiro (b. 1935) drew on Pop Art and the psychedelic poster with its ornamental lettering. Instead of the whale as menace, here the theme is the triumph of nature.

C’est le numéro eGuide de l’objet. Vous les trouverez sur certains objets de l’exposition.
C’est le numéro de localisation de l’objet.
Cliquez ici pour revenir au menu principal.
Cliquez ici pour changer de langue.
Cliquez ici pour changer la taille des caractères et pour vous connecter.
Cliquez ici pour voir la localisation de l’objet.
Agrandissez l’image avec deux doigts, faites pivoter les images 360° avec un doigt. Balayez l’image pour passer à la suivante.
Cliquez ici pour des informations approfondies, biographies, légendes, etc.
Cliquez ici pour entendre les textes ou des fichiers audio.
Partager un objet.
Télécharger au format PDF.
Ajouter aux objets sauvegardés.
 
Affiche, 1968
Antonio Reboiro
Affiche,
Antonio Reboiro,

Affiche,
1968

Antonio Reboiro
*1061
g1Q9
[{"lat":47.38288538728003,"lng":8.53571385429052},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
SS
RC
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Carte du musée
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  •  Antonio Reboiro
  •  Antonio Reboiro
6
7
Écouter le text
j

L’adaptation cinématographique légendaire de Moby Dick par John Huston (1906-1987) en 1954 sort sur les écrans de la Cuba postrévolutionnaire à la fin des années 1960. Antonio Reboiro (né en 1935) condense l’intrigue dans une image aux couleurs éclatantes, qui ne parle pas d’angoisse, mais livre une tout autre interprétation du roman d’Hermann Melville (1819-1891).

Après la révolution de 1959, l’affiche cubaine se renouvelle radicalement, une conséquence directe du changement politique. Les murs de l’île caribéenne, jusque-là recouverts par les affiches commerciales et par la banale propagande électorale, sont désormais densément décorés d’affiches sensuelles et colorées. L’affiche de cinéma, subventionnée par l’ICAIC (Institut cubain des arts et de l’industrie cinématographiques), pousse le plus loin ce changement d’esthétique. Libérés de la pression d’être à la base du succès commercial du film, les affichistes peuvent se permettre toute liberté artistique et saisir en images associatives leurs impressions du film. Ils s’approprient parfois aussi des courants avant-gardistes internationaux, comme en témoigne l’affiche d’Antonio Reboiro. Le pop art et l’affiche psychédélique avec ses caractères décoratifs ont ici posé leur marque. Les couleurs intenses et soutenues de la sérigraphie renforcent encore l’effet. Au lieu de rendre le contenu du film, les créateurs cubains parviennent à faire de la concision un emblème qui livre aussi leur propre interprétation. Le projet du capitaine Achab – se venger de Moby Dick qui lui a arraché une jambe – échoue lamentablement. D’autres affiches sur le roman de Melville focalisent sur la dangerosité du cachalot et présentent le capitaine Achab comme une victime. Chez Antonio Reboiro, c’est la puissance de la nature – symbolisée par le soleil étincelant, la mer houleuse et l’énorme queue du cachalot – qui triomphe de la folie humaine de vouloir la dompter. (Bettina Richter)

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1968
Erscheinungsland: Kuba
Gestaltung: Antonio Reboiro
Auftrag: Instituto Cubano de Arte e Industria Cinematográficos, Havanna, CU
Material/Technik: Siebdruck
76.5 × 51 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Bibliographieo

Edmundo Desnoes, Cubaanse affiches, Amsterdam 1971.

Jesus Vega, El cartel cubano de cinemateca de Cuba, Havanna 1996

Légendeso

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1968, Kuba, Gestaltung: Antonio Reboiro
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Moby Dick, 2011, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Paula Troxler, Donation: Paula Troxler
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1960, Tschechoslowakei, Gestaltung: Jiři Balcar, Donation: Peter Leuenberger
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Texte de l’expositiono
Le cinéma cubain

N’ayant plus pour mission de promouvoir le film, l’affiche de cinéma cubaine s’épanouit dans une grande liberté artistique et privilégie les images fondées sur des associations. La concision symbolique est à la fois la marque et la prouesse principale de cette tradition. Pour son affiche sur Moby Dick, Antonio Reboiro (né en 1935) s’approprie le pop art et l’affiche psychédélique dont il reprend la typographie ornementale. Il ne se focalise pas sur le danger représenté par le cachalot, mais sur le triomphe de la nature.