This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Poster, Moby Dick, 1968
Antonio Reboiro
Poster, Moby Dick
Antonio Reboiro,

Poster, Moby Dick,
1968

Antonio Reboiro
*1061
g1Q9
f Object e
[{"lat":47.38288538728003,"lng":8.53571385429052},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • Moby Dick Antonio Reboiro Poster
  • Moby Dick Antonio Reboiro Poster
6
7
Listen to the text
j

John Huston’s (1906–1987) legendary 1954 film adaptation of the novel Moby Dick came to cinemas in postrevolutionary Cuba in the late 1960s. Antonio Reboiro (b. 1935) condensed the plot into a luminous image that recounts not the horrors but rather interprets Hermann Melville’s (1819–1891) novel in a completely different way.

After the revolution of 1959, the Cuban poster took on a radically new appearance that was directly related to the country’s political transformation. Walls on the Caribbean island, formerly plastered with commercial posters and banal election propaganda, were now densely hung with colorful, sensual posters. This movie poster, sponsored by the Cuban film institute ICAIC, represented the most consistent development of the new aesthetic. Liberated from the pressures of creating the basis for the film’s commercial success with the poster, designers were able to exercise complete artistic freedom, capturing their immediate impressions of the film in associative images. This also involved appropriating international avant-garde movements, as is evident from Antonio Reboiro’s poster. Pop Art and the psychedelic poster with its ornamental lettering were the inspiration here. The bold, saturated colors of the screen print further reinforce the poster’s effect. Instead of depicting the film’s content, the Cuban designers managed to condense its subject into a symbol that invariably included their own interpretation. Captain Ahab’s mission to take revenge on Moby Dick for destroying his leg fails miserably. Other posters for Melville’s novel center on the menace of the whale and portray Captain Ahab as a victim. With Reboiro, though, the forces of nature—symbolized by the glaring sun, the stormy sea, and the huge whale fin—triumph over the human obsession to try to master them. (Bettina Richter)

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1968
Erscheinungsland: Kuba
Gestaltung: Antonio Reboiro
Auftrag: Instituto Cubano de Arte e Industria Cinematográficos, Havanna, CU
Material/Technik: Siebdruck
76.5 x 51 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

Edmundo Desnoes, Cubaanse affiches, Amsterdam 1971.

Jesus Vega, El cartel cubano de cinemateca de Cuba, Havanna 1996

Image creditso

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1968, Kuba, Gestaltung: Antonio Reboiro
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Moby Dick, 2011, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Paula Troxler, Donation: Paula Troxler
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1960, Tschechoslowakei, Gestaltung: Jiři Balcar, Donation: Peter Leuenberger
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Exhibition texto
Cuban Film

Liberated from the pressure of ensuring the commercial success of the film, the Cuban movie poster captivates with its great artistic freedom and associative images. The reduction of the film’s subject to symbols is the great achievement and typical characteristic of this poster tradition. For his Moby Dick poster, Antonio Reboiro (b. 1935) drew on Pop Art and the psychedelic poster with its ornamental lettering. Instead of the whale as menace, here the theme is the triumph of nature.

Das ist die eGuide-Nummer des Objekts. Sie finden sie in der Ausstellung bei ausgewählten Objekten.
Das ist die Standort-Nummer des Objekts.
Klicken Sie hier, um zum Hauptmenü zu gelangen.
Klicken Sie hier, um die Sprache zu ändern.
Klicken Sie hier, um die Schriftgrösse zu ändern und sich anzumelden.
Klicken Sie hier, um den Standort des Objekts anzuzeigen.
Vergrössern Sie Bilder mit zwei Fingern, rotieren Sie 360°-Bilder mit einem Finger. Schieben Sie ein Bild weg, um zum nächsten zu gelangen.
Klicken Sie hier für Hintergrundinformationen, Biografien, Legenden etc.
Klicken Sie hier, um sich Sprechtexte oder Tondateien anzuhören.
Teilen Sie ein Objekt.
Laden Sie es als PDF herunter.
Oder fügen Sie es zu den gespeicherten Objekten hinzu.
 
Plakat, Moby Dick, 1968
Antonio Reboiro
Plakat, Moby Dick
Antonio Reboiro,

Plakat, Moby Dick,
1968

Antonio Reboiro
*1061
g1Q9
f Objekt e
[{"lat":47.38288538728003,"lng":8.53571385429052},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
UG
EG
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zürich
Museumsplan
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zürich
  • Moby Dick Antonio Reboiro Plakat
  • Moby Dick Antonio Reboiro Plakat
6
7
Text anhören
j

John Hustons (1906–1987) legendäre Verfilmung des Romans Moby Dick von 1954 erreichte in den späten 1960er-Jahren auch die Kinosäle im nachrevolutionären Kuba. Antonio Reboiro (geb. 1935) verdichtete das Geschehen in einem leuchtend farbigen Bild, das nicht vom Schrecken erzählt, sondern Hermann Melvilles (1819–1891) Roman ganz anders interpretiert.

Nach der Revolution von 1959 erhielt das kubanische Plakat einen radikal neuen Auftritt, der direkt mit dem politischen Wandel zusammenhing. Die Mauern der karibischen Insel, bislang von kommerziellen Plakaten und banaler Wahlpropaganda überzogen, waren nun dicht behängt mit farbigen, sinnlichen Plakaten. Das vom kubanischen Filminstitut ICAIC geförderte Filmplakat entwickelte am konsequentesten eine andere Ästhetik. Befreit vom Druck, mit dem Plakat die Basis für den kommerziellen Erfolg des Films schaffen zu müssen, konnten sich die Gestalter völlige künstlerische Freiheit erlauben und ihre unmittelbaren Filmeindrücke in assoziative Bilder fassen. Dabei kam es, wie in Antonio Reboiros Plakat deutlich, auch zur Aneignung internationaler Avantgardeströmungen. Popart und das psychedelische Plakat mit seiner ornamentalen Schrift standen hier Pate. Die satten, kräftigen Farben des Siebdrucks verstärken die Wirkung noch. Anstelle der Wiedergabe des Filminhalts gelang den kubanischen Gestaltern die Verknappung zum Symbol, die stets auch eine eigene Interpretation beinhaltete. Das Vorhaben des Kapitäns Ahab, sein durch Moby Dick zerstörtes Bein zu rächen, scheitert kläglich. Andere Plakate zu Melvilles Roman rücken die Gefährlichkeit des Wals ins Zentrum und stellen Kapitän Ahab als Opfer dar. Bei Reboiro triumphiert jedoch die Macht der Natur – versinnbildlicht in der gleissenden Sonne, dem stürmischen Meer und der riesigen Walflosse – über den menschlichen Wahn, diese zu beherrschen.

(Bettina Richter)

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1968
Erscheinungsland: Kuba
Gestaltung: Antonio Reboiro
Auftrag: Instituto Cubano de Arte e Industria Cinematográficos, Havanna, CU
Material/Technik: Siebdruck
76.5 x 51 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literaturo

Edmundo Desnoes, Cubaanse affiches, Amsterdam 1971.

Jesus Vega, El cartel cubano de cinemateca de Cuba, Havanna 1996

Legendeno

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1968, Kuba, Gestaltung: Antonio Reboiro
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Moby Dick, 2011, Schweiz, Gestaltung: Paula Troxler, Donation: Paula Troxler
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Plakat, Moby Dick, 1960, Tschechoslowakei, Gestaltung: Jiři Balcar, Donation: Peter Leuenberger
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Ausstellungstexto
Kubanischer Film

Befreit vom Druck, die Basis für den kommerziellen Erfolg des Films schaffen zu müssen, lebt das kubanische Filmplakat von hoher künstlerischer Freiheit und assoziativen Bildern. Die Verknappung zum Symbol ist die grösste Leistung und das Charakteristikum dieser Plakattradition. Antonio Reboiro (geb. 1935) eignet sich für sein Moby-Dick-Plakat die Pop-Art und das psychedelische Plakat mit seinem ornamentalen Schrifteinsatz an. Nicht die Gefährlichkeit des Wals, sondern der Triumph der Natur steht bei ihm im Zentrum.