This is the eGuide number for the object. You can find it next to selected objects in the exhibition.
This is the location number for the object.
Click here to go to the main menu.
Click here to change languages.
Click here to change the font size and log in.
Click here to show the location of the object.
Zoom with two fingers and rotate images 360° with one finger. Swipe an object to the side to see the next one.
Click here for background information, biographies, legends, etc.
Click here to listen to spoken texts or audio files.
Share an object.
Download as PDF.
Add to saved objects.
 
Brooch, (untitled), 1912
Georg Jensen
Brooch, (untitled)
Georg Jensen,

Brooch, (untitled),
1912

Georg Jensen
*1079
g1X1
f Object e
[{"lat":47.38289855409406,"lng":8.535750734664475},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
BF
GF
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zurich
Museum map
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zurich
  • (untitled) Georg Jensen Brooch
  • (untitled) Georg Jensen Brooch
  • (untitled) Georg Jensen Brooch
  • (untitled) Georg Jensen Brooch
  • (untitled) Georg Jensen Brooch
  • (untitled) Georg Jensen Brooch
6
7
Listen to the text
j

Through the purposeful selection of materials, the Danish artist and craftsman Georg Jensen (1866–1935) made the Art Nouveau jewelry pieces he designed into affordable products. This elegant silver brooch set with opals depicts the geometrically ordered arrangement of a flower head.

Inspired by complex stamens such as those of the passion flower, Georg Jensen connected the delicate openwork eight-lobed rosette into a star shape using small bars. He achieved depth through the layering of two offset quatrefoil elements, from the center of which a moving pendulum prominently dangles. The opals ideally reinforce the kinetic effect, with the reflections of the semiprecious stone emerging from the black of the interstices making the piece a feast for the eyes. The son of a knife grinder, Jensen began learning the craft of goldsmithing at the age of fourteen and subsequently studied sculpture at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts until 1892. His ceramic figurines were quite well-received, but in order to earn a living he went to work at the prestigious porcelain firm of Bing & Grøndahl. He tried his hand at founding his own pottery studio, and later worked as a silversmith in Mogens Ballin’s Copenhagen metal workshop. There, as the supervisor for thirty workers, he gained the necessary experience to found his own silversmithing workshop, which he did in 1904. The same year, he attracted a great deal of attention with the exhibition of 110 of his pieces at the Kunstindustrimuseet in Copenhagen. At his stand, a critic wrote, one could purchase “cheap and mass-produced silverware with a perfect artistic expression.” In fact, in the early years, Jensen produced his works entirely by hand. He later used a punch press—for example, for the front faces of brooches—in order to meet the great demand. Nevertheless, a great deal of manual work was necessary to complete a finished product. After 1904, production at Jensen’s factory was in full swing, and he soon found it necessary to expand, opening branches in Berlin, London, and on New York’s Fifth Avenue. Collaborations with artists and designers have proven to be a consistently successful concept to this day. (Sabine Flaschberger)

Brosche mit Anhänger, 1912
Entwurf/Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Material/Technik: Silber; Opal
9.9 x 6.3 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literatureo

The Bard Graduate Center for Studies in the Decorative Arts, Design and Culture, Georg Jensen Jewelry, New York 2005.

Image creditso

Brosche mit Anhänger, 1912, Entwurf/Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Brosche, Design Nr. 94, 1914, Entwurf/Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Zuckerschale, um 1910, Entwurf/Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Terrine, 1952, Entwurf: Magnus Stephensen, Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Kelch, 1912, Entwurf/Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Georg Jensen Katalog, um 1908–1912, Fotografie: Bruce White
Abbildung: David A. Taylor (Hg.), Georg Jensen Jewelry, New Haven 2005 / The Georg Jensen Archive

Georg Jensen (stehend) mit Lehrlingen im Atelier in Kopenhagen, um 1909
Abbildung: David A. Taylor (Hg.), Georg Jensen Jewelry, New Haven 2005 / The Georg Jensen Archive

Exhibition texto
Jewelry

The traditional German word for jewelry, Geschmeide, comes like the Middle High German gesmide (metal, jewelry) and the Old High German smida (metal) from the Germanic term smi (work in metal). But the art of making jewelry is not confined to skillfully working various metals. Bernhard Schobinger’s (b. 1946) earrings made from dowels, Marietta Meier-Bättig’s (b. 1966) horsehair bracelet, the bicycle tube necklace by Regula Wyss (b. 1948), and the bottle cap collar crafted by Verena Sieber-Fuchs (b. 1943) all attest to a surprisingly versatile use of materials in this field.

Das ist die eGuide-Nummer des Objekts. Sie finden sie in der Ausstellung bei ausgewählten Objekten.
Das ist die Standort-Nummer des Objekts.
Klicken Sie hier, um zum Hauptmenü zu gelangen.
Klicken Sie hier, um die Sprache zu ändern.
Klicken Sie hier, um die Schriftgrösse zu ändern und sich anzumelden.
Klicken Sie hier, um den Standort des Objekts anzuzeigen.
Vergrössern Sie Bilder mit zwei Fingern, rotieren Sie 360°-Bilder mit einem Finger. Schieben Sie ein Bild weg, um zum nächsten zu gelangen.
Klicken Sie hier für Hintergrundinformationen, Biografien, Legenden etc.
Klicken Sie hier, um sich Sprechtexte oder Tondateien anzuhören.
Teilen Sie ein Objekt.
Laden Sie es als PDF herunter.
Oder fügen Sie es zu den gespeicherten Objekten hinzu.
 
Brosche, (ohne Titel), 1912
Georg Jensen
Brosche, (ohne Titel)
Georg Jensen,

Brosche, (ohne Titel),
1912

Georg Jensen
*1079
g1X1
f Objekt e
[{"lat":47.38289855409406,"lng":8.535750734664475},{"floor":"floorplan-ug"}]
UG
EG
1
2
2
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Ausstellungsstrasse 60
8031 Zürich
Museumsplan
Museum für Gestaltung Zürich
Toni-Areal, Pfingstweidstrasse 94
8031 Zürich
  • (ohne Titel) Georg Jensen Brosche
  • (ohne Titel) Georg Jensen Brosche
  • (ohne Titel) Georg Jensen Brosche
  • (ohne Titel) Georg Jensen Brosche
  • (ohne Titel) Georg Jensen Brosche
  • (ohne Titel) Georg Jensen Brosche
6
7
Text anhören
j

Der dänische Künstler und Handwerker Georg Jensen (1866–1935) hat durch die gezielte Wahl der verwendeten Materialien die von ihm entworfenen Jugendstilschmuckstücke zu erschwinglichen Produkten gemacht. Die mit Opalen besetzte repräsentative Silberbrosche zeigt die geometrisch geordnete Umsetzung eines Blütenstands.

Inspiriert von komplexen Staubgefässen wie etwa an denjenigen der Passionsblume hat Georg Jensen die filigran durchbrochene achtlappige Rosette durch Stege sternförmig verbunden. Tiefe erzielte er mit einer Schicht aus zwei vierpassigen Elementen, in deren Mitte ein bewegliches Pendel prangt. Der Opalbesatz verstärkt dessen kinetische Wirkung in idealer Weise und macht das Stück mittels Reflexen des Halbedelsteins vor der Schwärze der Zwischenräume zur Augenweide. Als Sohn eines Messerschleifers erlernte Jensen bereits mit 14 Jahren die Goldschmiedekunst und anschliessend bis 1892 an der Königlich Dänischen Kunstakademie die Bildhauerei. Seine Keramikfiguren fanden durchaus Anklang, doch für den Lebensunterhalt verdingte er sich bei der renommierten Porzellanfirma Bing & Grøndahl, gründete versuchsweise ein eigenes Keramikatelier und wirkte als Silberschmied in Mogens Ballins Kopenhagener Metallwerkstätte. Als Vorarbeiter von 30 Angestellten sammelte er dort die nötigen Erfahrungen für eine eigene Silberwerkstatt, die er 1904 gründete. Im gleichen Jahr erregte er mit 110 Arbeiten in einer Ausstellung im Kopenhagener Kunstindustriemuseum grosse Aufmerksamkeit. An seinem Stand könne man «cheap and mass-produced silverware with a perfect artistic expression» erwerben, schrieb die Kritik. Tatsächlich produzierte man in den Anfangsjahren komplett von Hand. Später verwendete Jensen etwa für die Vorderseiten von Broschen eine Stanzmaschine, um die grosse Nachfrage zu befriedigen. Trotzdem blieben zur Vollendung des Produkts sehr viele Handgriffe nötig. In seiner Manufaktur lief die Produktion nach 1904 auf Hochtouren, so dass Jensen in kurzer Zeit erweitern musste und Filialen in Berlin, London und der Fifth Avenue in New York eröffnete. Kooperationen mit Künstlern und Designern erwiesen sich bis heute als dauerhaft erfolgreiches Konzept. (Sabine Flaschberger)

Brosche mit Anhänger, 1912
Entwurf/Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Material/Technik: Silber; Opal
9.9 x 6.3 cm
Eigentum: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK
Literaturo

The Bard Graduate Center for Studies in the Decorative Arts, Design and Culture, Georg Jensen Jewelry, New York 2005.

Legendeno

Brosche mit Anhänger, 1912, Entwurf/Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Brosche, Design Nr. 94, 1914, Entwurf/Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Zuckerschale, um 1910, Entwurf/Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Terrine, 1952, Entwurf: Magnus Stephensen, Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Kelch, 1912, Entwurf/Ausführung: Georg Jensen
Abbildung: Museum für Gestaltung Zürich / ZHdK

Georg Jensen Katalog, um 1908–1912, Fotografie: Bruce White
Abbildung: David A. Taylor (Hg.), Georg Jensen Jewelry, New Haven 2005 / The Georg Jensen Archive

Georg Jensen (stehend) mit Lehrlingen im Atelier in Kopenhagen, um 1909
Abbildung: David A. Taylor (Hg.), Georg Jensen Jewelry, New Haven 2005 / The Georg Jensen Archive

Ausstellungstexto
Schmuck

Der Begriff Schmuck oder Geschmeide geht wie das mittelhochdeutsche «gesmide» (Metall, Schmuck) und das althochdeutsche «smida» (Metall) auf den germanischen Begriff «smi» (in Metall arbeiten) zurück. Die Kunst, Schmuck herzustellen, beschränkt sich jedoch nicht nur auf eine gekonnte Bearbeitung verschiedener Metalle. Bernhard Schobingers (geb. 1946) Ohrringe aus Dübeln, Marietta Meier-Bättigs (geb. 1966) Armreif aus Rosshaar, die Fahrradschlauchhalskette von Regula Wyss (geb. 1948) oder Verena Sieber-Fuchs’ (geb. 1943) Kronkorkenkragen zeugen von einer überraschend vielseitigen Materialität.